Program Overview

  • Michigan Teacher of the Year Program (MTOY)

    Please note: Nominations for the 2022-23 Michigan Teacher of the Year program will open on Monday, September 13, 2021. The online nomination form will be posted on this page, shared through the Office of Educator Excellence's Social Media Accounts, and also through other media channels. The tentative timeline for the 2022-23 program year contains nomination and application deadlines for the cycle.

    Since 1952, one of Michigan's outstanding teachers has been named our state's Teacher of the Year (MTOY). The MTOY serves as a representative and advocate for Michigan's more than 90,000 teachers, working with 9 fellow Regional Teachers of the Year (RTOYs) as the Michigan Teacher Leadership Advisory Council (MTLAC) to share feedback and input on educational policies and initiatives with MDE and propose ways to enhance student learning. Each RTOY brings recognition to the district he or she represents and has expanded opportunities for professional development at the state level and additional opportunities to share their experience and expertise.

    Each month, the MTOY attends State Board of Education meetings as a non-voting member of the board and presents on issues of importance to teachers across the state with one of the RTOYs. In addition to meeting with state legislative and educational leadership, the MTOY can meet national leaders and work with their fellow state teachers of the year from other U.S. states and territories through programming arranged by the Council of Chief State School Officers (CCSSO), the organization which coordinates the National Teacher of the Year program. Each year's MTOY is Michigan's applicant for National Teacher of the Year. To date, one MTOY has been honored as NTOY, Thomas Fleming in 1992, and several other MTOYs have been named NTOY finalists, most recently Robert Stevenson in 2010.

    As part of the CCSSO's programming for state teachers of the year, the MTOY attends four national conferences, including Space Camp in Huntsville, Alabama. The MTOY also has an opportunity to attend the Richard W. Riley College of Education and Leadership program at Walden University via a scholarship extended to the MTOY.

    Thank you to the Meemic Foundation for their continued sponsorship and support of the Michigan Teacher of the Year, the Regional Teachers of the Year and the Michigan Teacher Leadership Advisory Council (MTLAC).

    Meemic Foundation Logo

Current Michigan Teacher of the Year

  • 2020-21 Michigan Teacher Leadership Advisory Council Members
  • Congratulations to the 2020-21 Michigan Teacher of the Year: Owen Bondono, Oak Park High School 9th Grade Learning Community, Oak Park Schools

    Owen Bondono 2020-2021 MTOY

    Owen Bondono is a high school English Language Arts teacher entering his 6th year as a certified teacher in Michigan at the Oak Park High School 9th Grade Learning Community (formerly the Oak Park Freshman Institute) in Oak Park Schools. Prior to becoming a certified teacher, Owen spent four years as a non-certified educational professional.

    Additional details on Owen can be found on his biography page.

    Press Release: Oak Park Educator Named 2020-2021 Michigan Teacher of the Year 

In the Media