Skip to main content

State Continues to Invest in Grow Your Own Future Proud Michigan Educator Programs

LANSING – Ninety-six additional school districts in Michigan will be developing more teachers from within their ranks with Future Proud Michigan Educator Grow Your Own (GYO) staff grants, the Michigan Department of Education (MDE) announced today. This is the second round of Grow Your Own grants awarded by MDE, building on the school districts awarded grants in the first round.

GYO staff grants provide opportunities for districts to increase the number of teachers in areas of shortage by supporting school employees seeking initial teacher certification or additional teacher endorsements, in response to their unique local needs for staffing. Each awardee will administer its own GYO program in partnership with one or more educator preparation providers.

“Grow Your Own programs provide an opportunity for schools to develop educators from within their districts and benefit from their successful experiences working with children,” said State Superintendent Dr. Michael Rice. “We continue to invest our resources to rebuild the teaching profession in Michigan in partnership with our school districts and teacher preparation providers—all in support of children.”

Grow Your Own programs will help Michigan achieve Goal 7 of the Top 10 Strategic Education Plan of increasing the numbers of certified teachers in areas of shortage.

To date, nearly $128 million in Grow Your Own grants have been awarded to 139 individual school districts and consortia through funds appropriated by the state legislature and signed into law by Governor Gretchen Whitmer. An additional $66.3 million has been appropriated to a statewide consortium called Talent Together for Grow Your Own programs. Awardees will be able to reimburse costs associated with educator preparation on behalf of school staff wishing to pursue initial certification or additional endorsements.

“This second round of grants will fund a significant expansion of GYO programs across the state and help ensure that more students will have access to high quality instruction,” said Dr. Sarah-Kate LaVan, director of MDE’s Office of Educator Excellence (OEE). “We also know that GYO programs tend to put people in the classroom who come from the same communities they serve, improving equity in our teacher pipeline.”

MDE received 104 applications requesting nearly $45 million in Round 2. These requests ranged from less than $6,000 for a public school academy to $15.4 million for an entire intermediate school district (ISD). In some cases, Round 2 awardees were among those awarded funds in the first round of Future Proud Michigan Educator GYO staff grants that wanted to expand their programs to address additional staffing needs. In other cases, Round 2 awardees were among those that did not submit a successful application in the first round.

School districts that want to learn more about the Future Proud Michigan Educator Grow Your Own school staff grants can consult the GYO Grant website or email

Staff who are interested in learning more about financial support for future educators are encouraged to visit and MI Student Aid to learn about funding opportunities for which they may be eligible. To consult a complete list of approved educator preparation programs in Michigan, visit the Michigan Directory of Educator Preparation Providers and Programs.

The recipients of the 2023 Future Proud Michigan Educator Round 2 GYO staff grants are:

Academy for Business and Technology
Alanson Public Schools
American Montessori Academy
Arts Academy in the Woods
Arts and Technology Academy of Pontiac
Atherton Community Schools
Baraga Area Schools
Bark River-Harris School District
Battle Creek Public Schools
Bay City School District
Berrien RESA
Birch Run Area Schools
Bridgman Public Schools
Carney-Nadeau Public Schools
Carsonville-Port Sanilac School District
Center Line Preparatory Academy
Central Montcalm Public Schools
Cesar Chavez Academy
Charlton Heston Academy
Cheboygan Area Schools
Countryside Academy
Covenant High School Grand Rapids
Covenant House Academy Detroit
Crawford AuSable Schools
Crestwood School District
Dearborn City School District
Delton Kellogg Schools
Detroit Academy of Arts and Sciences
Detroit Community Schools
Detroit Innovation Academy
Detroit Leadership Academy
Distinctive College Prep
Dowagiac Union School District
Dryden Community Schools
East Jackson Community Schools
Eastpointe Community Schools
Eaton Academy
Elkton-Pigeon-Bay Port Laker Schools
Evart Public Schools
Fostering Leadership Academy
Fruitport Community Schools
Galesburg-Augusta Community Schools
Genesee Intermediate School District
Grant Public School District
Greater Heights Academy
Gull Lake Community Schools
Harper Creek Community Schools
Hastings Area School District
Hazel Park School District
Holland City School District
Hope Academy of West Michigan
Hope of Detroit Academy
International Academy of Flint
Ionia Public Schools
Jalen Rose Leadership Academy
Kalamazoo Public Schools
Kaleva Norman Dickson School District
Kelloggsville Public Schools
Kensington Woods Schools
Kent Intermediate School District
Kentwood Public Schools
Lake Fenton Community Schools
Lake Orion Community Schools
Leslie Public Schools
Macomb Intermediate School District
Marshall Academy
Menominee Area Public Schools
Michigan Educational Choice Center
Michigan International Prep School
Milan Area Schools
Mt. Morris Consolidated Schools
North Central Area Schools
North Huron School District
Northridge Academy
Novi Community School District
Oakridge Public Schools
Old Redford Academy
Owendale-Gagetown Area School District
Owosso Public Schools
Pine River Area Schools
Portage Public Schools
Public Schools of Petoskey
Renaissance Public School Academy
Rockford Public Schools
Saginaw Preparatory Academy
Sandusky Community School District
Springport Public Schools
Summit Academy North
Suttons Bay Public Schools
Tipton Academy
Uplift Michigan Academy
Van Buren Intermediate School District
Washtenaw Intermediate School District
West Branch-Rose City Area Schools
West Iron County Public Schools
Ypsilanti Community Schools

# # #

Media Contact: