Skip to main content

Advanced Professional Teaching Certificate Renewal

The Advanced Professional Teaching Certificate (APC) is valid for 5 years and each renewal adds five years to the certificate’s validity. A renewal can be requested any time after January 1 of the expiration year.

The APC recognizes completion of an approved Teacher Leader program or achieving National Board certification through the National Board for Professional Teaching Standards.

School districts approach assignments and benefits associated with the APC differently; therefore, we encourage you to talk with your school and district leaders about your district’s approach.

Renewal Requirements

  1. Education-Related Professional Learning totaling 150 hours. Any teachers unable to meet the APC renewal requirements may return to the Professional Teaching Certificate. 
  2. Educator Effectiveness Ratings*:
  • Ratings of Highly Effective or Effective for 3 out of the 5 most recent end-of-school-year annual evaluations under MCL 380.1249*
  • No ratings of Ineffective within the 5 most recent end-of-school-year annual evaluations under MCL 380.1249*

OR:

  • Since the issuance of the individual's most recent teaching certificate, the individual completed at least 3 years of successful experience in an appropriate assignment, as determined by the superintendent of public instruction, including experience as a teacher leader, a teacher of children from birth through pre-K, a teacher of adult education, or a provider of K to 12 instruction in an assignment that does not require an annual performance evaluation under MCL 380.1249*

*For additional information on educator evaluations and ratings, please visit the educator evaluations website or email questions to MDE-EdEvals@michigan.gov.

Apply now

Important Note

Educators who hold the School Counselor (NT) endorsement on a teaching certificate, regardless of current assignment, must meet the requirements of law (MCL 380.1233(6)) to renew that teaching certificate. Information pertaining to renewing a school counselor credential can be accessed via the School Counselor Credential Renewals guidance. Endorsements are not renewed; rather, certificates are renewed, and a renewal of that certificate will maintain the existing endorsements. An endorsement can only be removed from a Michigan teaching certificate if the nullification process is utilized.

Education-Related Professional Learning

Education-Related Professional Learning Options

One of the following Education-Related Professional Learning options must be earned since the issue date of the most recent certificate or renewal. These hours must be entered into Michigan Online Educator Certification System (MOECS) prior to applying for the renewal for the system to recognize your eligibility:

*Credits in a planned course of study may include credits taken as part of an education-related master’s or higher degree or credits in a program that leads to an endorsement. 

Education-Related Professional Learning Conversion

College credit

1 semester credit = 25 professional learning hours

SCECH

1 SCECH Hour = 1 professional learning hour

DPPD

1 DPPD hour = 1 professional learning hour


Documenting Education-Related Professional Learning

  • College credits must be documented on a transcript and submitted as part of the application. Unofficial transcripts or copies are acceptable.
  • SCECHs are maintained in the system and do not require additional documentation as part of the application process. In order to receive SCECHs, programs must be submitted by the sponsoring entity and educators must complete the evaluation in their MOECS profile.
  • DPPD completed prior to July 1, 2020 must be submitted in the MOECS system and a form signed by the administrator must be submitted as well.