Skip to main content

Michigan Teachers Chosen as State Finalists for Math, Science Presidential Teaching Award

LANSING – Four outstanding Michigan educators who work with elementary school students have been selected as state finalists for the 2024 Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching, the Michigan Department of Education announced today.

They are:

  • Rebecca Durling, Discovery Elementary School, Williamston Community Schools, Science.
  • Molly Jeppesen, Symons Elementary School, Milan Area Schools, Science.
  • Jessica Mahl, Jane Addams Elementary School, South Redford School District, Science.
  • Janice Kato, North Elementary School, Birch Run Area Schools, Mathematics.

“Michigan and its students are fortunate to have so many dedicated and talented teachers,” said State Superintendent Dr. Michael F. Rice. “We salute these great educators and wish them the best of luck at the national level this year.”

The Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching program is administered by the National Science Foundation on behalf of the White House Office of Science and Technology Policy.

Each year, a national committee of prominent mathematicians, scientists, mathematics/science education researchers, district-level personnel, and classroom teachers recommends up to 110 teachers to receive the awards.

Of the finalists, up to two mathematics or science teachers from each state, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, U.S. territories as a group, and schools operated in the United States and overseas by the Department of Defense Education Activity receive the award.

Awardees receive a trip to Washington, D.C., where they attend a series of recognition events and professional development opportunities. They also earn a $10,000 award from the National Science Foundation and a presidential certificate and join an elite group of award-winning teachers who support and promote their state or jurisdiction and science, technology, engineering, and mathematics teaching.

For more information, visit the Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching website.


# # #

Media Contact: