Skip to main content

Commercial Animal Feed Tonnage

Cow in field
Michigan Agriculture Logo

Commercial Animal Feed Tonnage

Commercial Animal Feed Tonnage and Inspection Fees

Every licensee must submit tonnage reports and tonnage-based inspection fees once a year. Licensees will file one annual report for July 1 - June 30 each July.


Licensees use the Inspection and Tonnage Fee Report Form to file Feed Tonnage reports covering July 1 - June 30 annually.
Inspection and Tonnage Fee Report Form - Electronic 
Inspection and Tonnage Fee Report Form - Print

Helpful resources for filing inspection and tonnage fee reports:


  • $0.30/ton and $0.15/ton for wet by-products > 60% moisture
  • The inspection fee is $0.15 per ton on feed ingredients that are by-products of manufacturing processes and have a moisture content equal to or greater than 60%
  • All reports have a $50 minimum inspection fee. For example, any licensee that manufactures/distributes 166 tons or less of feed pays $50, and any licensee that manufactures/distributes 167 tons or more of feed pays $0.30 per ton (i.e., 167 tons x $0.30 = $50.10)
  • Licensees file one annual report for July 1 - June 30 each July

Inspection Fees

The Michigan Department of Agriculture and Rural Development (MDARD) uses funds collected from inspection fees to help pay for its commercial feed inspection and sampling activities. MDARD’s Animal Feed Safety Section routinely inspects manufacturers and distributors of animal feeds for compliance with labeling, sanitation, and other requirements to protect consumers and enable fair competition. The Animal Feed Safety Inspection staff also collects commercial feed samples and tests them for nutrients and animal drugs guaranteed on labels.
The inspection fees assessed to commercial feed manufacturers and distributors in Michigan are based on the quantity of feed distributed, rather than the number of products distributed. Once a year, every licensee must pay the Department an inspection fee of $0.30/ton and $0.15/ton for wet by-products > 60% moisture. The fee is levied on each ton of commercial feed manufactured/distributed in this state. The inspection fee and statement of commercial feeds manufactured/distributed in Michigan must be reported on a form provided by MDARD.

Filing Deadlines

Filling must be completed by July 31 annually, File annually, by the last day of July, with a statement proving the number of tons of commercial feed distributed in Michigan during the preceding July 1 to June 30 period. The inspection fee and tonnage must be reported using either the electronic or print reporting forms supplied above. Refunds of less than $5.00 will not be processed unless requested in writing. For any report not filed with the department by the due date, a penalty of $50.00 or 10% of the amount due, whichever is greater, shall be assessed. The assessment of a penalty fee does not prevent the department from taking other actions as provided in this act.

License holders who have not received their reporting form by July 1 should immediately contact MDARD at 800-292-3939, or send an email to