The web Browser you are currently using is unsupported, and some features of this site may not work as intended. Please update to a modern browser such as Chrome, Firefox or Edge to experience all features Michigan.gov has to offer.
How can I purchase a copy of my driving record?
What do I need to purchase a copy of my driving record? (Choose tab)
To purchase a certified copy of your record online:
- Create an account through MILogin and authenticate your information on our website.
- Your record will only be visible for 7 days.
- Pay with a credit or debit card (additional fees apply) or e-check/bank account number.
- Fee: $12
To purchase a copy of your driving record by mail:
- Complete a record request form.
- Mail the form and payment (check or money order) to our Record Sales Unit. The address is listed on the form.
- Fee: $11 (or 12 for a certified copy)
This transaction isn’t available at a self-service station.
To purchase a certified copy of your driving record at a Secretary of State office:
- Schedule an office visit.
- Bring your license or ID.
- Bring payment by cash, check, money order, or credit or debit card (additional fees apply).
- Fee: $12
Frequently asked questions (FAQs)
How do I make corrections to my driving record?
If you see discrepancies on your driving record, you will need to contact the listed court for tickets and the listed police department for accidents. Corrections will then be sent to the Michigan Department of State to update your record. If you need to discuss other details of your record, call our Driver Records Activity Unit at 517-636-6406.
How long is my driving record available for viewing online?
The link for your electronic driver record is only accessible for 7 days. During the seven-day period, you may view your electronic driver record as many times as you need to by logging in and choosing the option to View Transaction History. We recommend you save your documents to your computer or device so that you may conveniently view the record at any time. If you were unable to access your driving record in the time allotted, you may apply for a refund.
Do I need a certified copy of my driving record?
If you are purchasing your driving record for your own reference, you may not need a certified record.
If you are purchasing a copy of your record for a court case, or for an employer, check with the person requesting the record to verify what type of record is needed and if it needs to be certified.
NOTE: All driving records purchased in Secretary of State offices are certified records.
Can I purchase a driving record for another person?
In most cases, Michigan residents must purchase their own records. The following exceptions are allowed by law:
Commercial and governmental agency users
The Michigan Department of State allows commercial and governmental users to obtain driver’s license, vehicle, mobile home, watercraft, and recreational vehicle records under certain specified conditions.
Driving Record Subscription Service
The Driving Record Subscription Service provides organizations with the driving records of their employees on an annual basis, or whenever there are violations, restrictions, suspensions, or revocations posted to the driving record.