The web Browser you are currently using is unsupported, and some features of this site may not work as intended. Please update to a modern browser such as Chrome, Firefox or Edge to experience all features Michigan.gov has to offer.
Setting up a Record Sales account
Commercial businesses and government agencies may request access to Record Sales programs for obtaining driver, vehicle, mobile home, and recreational vehicle records for specific purposes and in accordance with the law. This information is available in the form of individual records requested on an as-needed basis, by subscription, and as bulk information, and may be requested through an official Secretary of State business account.
The Record Sales programs available are:
- Direct Access: Provides access to search individual records and returns the search results through online services. There are a number of prerequisites that must be met before an organization is granted direct access to search record information.
- Subscription Services: Allows organizations to subscribe to an individual's driver record. With a Subscription Services account, the organization can be notified annually or when certain changes to the driving record are made.
- List Sales: A program that allows the bulk purchase of information about vehicles and drivers. Eligibility to purchase and use this data is determined in accordance with a number of legal and department policies.
- Record Lookup: Allows organizations to request records of various types related to drivers, vehicles, hearings, individual assets, and more.
To apply for any of these programs, complete and submit an application through Record Sales (located under the "Additional Services" section of Online Services).
Non-account and individual driver and vehicle record requests (Choose tab)
If you have a Record Lookup account, log into your online Secretary of State business account to request and purchase individual driver and vehicle records. If you don't have an account, go to Online Services and under "Additional Services" select "Record Sales Services" and then "Request Records" to complete your request.
All records are $11 each; $12 if certified.
To request a driving or vehicle record by mail, submit the following:
- Completed the Record Request form using the provided link.
- Payment for all requested records ($11 per record; $12 for a certified record). Checks and money orders should be made payable to the State of Michigan.
Mail the form and payment to:
Michigan Department of State
Record Sales Unit
7064 Crowner Drive
Lansing, MI 48918-1502
Requests are reviewed in the order in which they are received.
If you have an account, your request must be submitted online.
Frequently asked questions (FAQs)
Per state law, what are the permissible reasons for requesting a record from the Department of State?
a. For use by a federal, state, or local governmental agency, including a court or law enforcement agency, in carrying out the agency's functions, or by a private person or entity acting on behalf of a governmental agency in carrying out the agency's functions.
b. For use in connection with matters of motor vehicle and driver safety or auto theft; motor vehicle emissions; motor vehicle product alterations, recalls, or advisories; performance monitoring of motor vehicles; motor vehicle market research activities, including survey research; and the removal of non-owner records from the original records of motor vehicle manufacturers.
c. For use in the normal course of business by a legitimate business, including the agents, employees, and contractors of the business, but only to verify the accuracy of personal information submitted by an individual to the business or its agents, employees, or contractors, and if the information as so submitted is no longer correct, to obtain the correct information, for the sole purpose of preventing fraud by pursuing legal remedies against, or recovering a debt against, the individual.
d. For use in connection with a civil, criminal, administrative, or arbitration proceeding in a federal, state, or local court or governmental agency or before a self-regulatory body, including use for service of process, investigation in anticipation of litigation, and the execution or enforcement of judgments and orders, or pursuant to an order of a federal, state or local court, an administrative agency, or a self-regulatory body.
e. For use in legitimate research activities and in preparing statistical reports for commercial, scholarly, or academic purposes by a bona fide research organization, if the personal information is not published, re-disclosed, or used to contact individuals.
f. For use by an insurer or insurance support organizations, or by a self-insured entity, or its agents, employees, or contractors, in connection with claims investigating activity, antifraud activity, rating, or underwriting.
g. For use in providing notice to the owner of an abandoned, towed, or impounded vehicle.
h. For use either by a private detective or private investigator licensed under the Private Detective License Act of 1965, as amended (1965 PA 285; MCL 338.821 to 338.851), or by a private security guard agency or alarm system contractor licensed under the Private Security Guard Act of 1968, as amended (1968 PA 330; MCL 338.1051 to 338.1085), only for another permissible purpose listed here.
i. For use by an employer, or the employer's agent or insurer, to obtain or verify information relating either to the holder of a commercial driver's license that is required under federal law or to the holder of a chauffeur's license that is required under Chapter 3 of the Michigan Vehicle Code.
j. For use by a car rental business, or its employees, agents, contractors, or service firms, for the purpose of making rental decisions.
k. For use in connection with the operation of private toll transportation facilities.
l. For use by a news medium in the preparation and dissemination of a report related in part or in whole to the operation of a motor vehicle or public safety.
m. For any use by an individual requesting information pertaining to himself or herself or requesting in writing that the Secretary of State provide information pertaining to himself or herself to the individual's designee. (A request for disclosure to a designee may be submitted only by the individual.)
Under current law, lists cannot be sold for marketing and/or solicitation.
Does the department provide residents’ phone numbers or email addresses through bulk information sales?
Bulk information sales don't include customer phone numbers or email addresses, and data cannot be used for marketing or solicitation purposes. MDOS checks compliance on all sales and violations can be prosecuted as felony infractions.
Many purchasers are universities, research organizations, and other governments that use the large dataset for research purposes. The Michigan Department of State is authorized by the state Legislature to sell limited customer data to reduce the need for tax revenue.
Where can I learn more about commercial subscription services?
How can my organization learn more about bulk information sales requests?
How do I read a driving or vehicle record?