The web Browser you are currently using is unsupported, and some features of this site may not work as intended. Please update to a modern browser such as Chrome, Firefox or Edge to experience all features Michigan.gov has to offer.
What do I need to order a new plate? (Choose tab below)
To replace a plate online, you will need to:
- Visit Michigan.gov/SOS and select Online Services.
- Under “Vehicle Transactions” select “More Online Vehicles Services”
- Follow the prompts to create or log into your account to purchase a plate.
- Pay with a credit or debit card or e-check/bank account number. Plate fees start as low as $5 for a standard plate. The fee for a replacement plate depends on the type of plate you choose.
- Review your transaction summary. An option to print your receipt will be displayed. The “View Transaction Documents” button allows you to view your temporary vehicle registration.
- Save a copy of your vehicle registration to your computer. Your temporary vehicle registration is only visible once, so we recommend saving a copy to your computer before you log off.
To replace a plate by mail, you will need:
- A completed license plate order form for the type of plate you wish to order.
- Include a check or money order made payable to the State of Michigan. Plate fees start as low as $5 for a standard plate. The fee for a replacement plate depends on the type of plate you choose.
- Mail your completed application and payment to:
Michigan Department of State
Internal Services Section
7064 Crowner Drive
Lansing, MI 48918-8264
This option is only available for vehicles that are being renewed. To replace a plate at a self-service station, you will need:
- Your renewal notice. If you don’t have your renewal notice, you’ll need the plate number and Vehicle Identification Number (VIN) for the vehicle you are renewing.
- Pay with a credit or debit card (additional fees apply) or cash (at specific locations). Plate fees start as low as $5 for a standard plate. The fee for a replacement plate depends on the type of plate you choose.
To replace your plate at a Secretary of State office, you will need:
- Your vehicle registration or the license plate number and your driver’s license.
- Cash, check, or money order (made payable to the State of Michigan), or a credit or debit card (additional fees apply). Plate fees start as low as $5 for a standard plate. The fee for a replacement plate depends on the type of plate you choose.
Frequently asked questions (FAQs)
When am I required to replace a license plate?
Plates that are rusted, damaged, or illegible because of age or wear and tear should be replaced. Additionally, Michigan requires plates that are at least 10 years old to be replaced upon renewal.
What if my plate is damaged?
Bring your plate to a Secretary of State office and let the greeter know you have a damaged plate. The $5 plate replacement fee may be waived if the manager determines the plate is damaged because of a manufacturing defect.
Damaged plates are canceled on system after they have been brought to our attention. If you don’t bring the plate to a Secretary of State office for disposal, you may destroy it by cutting it up or bending off a corner so that it can no longer be used.
What if my plate was stolen?
If you believe your plate was stolen, you should file a report with the police or sheriff’s office immediately. The agency will enter a message into the Law Enforcement Information Network alerting officers that the plate was reported as stolen.
You may order a replacement plate online, by mail, or at a Secretary of State office.
Can someone order a replacement plate on my behalf?
A plate or tab can only be replaced by the vehicle owner, by a member of the owner’s family living at the same address, or by someone the vehicle owner designates through an Appointment of Agent form.
What if my insurance carrier does not participate in Electronic Insurance Verification (EIV)?
Electronic Insurance Verification makes renewing online or at a self-service station possible because proof of insurance has already been verified through updated electronic files sent by participating insurance companies.
If your insurance company doesn’t participate in EIV, you won’t be able to renew online or at a self-service station. Complete the fillable plate renewal form, include your payment, and mail in your application. You may also schedule a visit at an office.