Skip to main content

Out-of-state residents

Completing Secretary of State transactions while outside Michigan

Michigan residents who will be out of state are encouraged to complete their transactions early, before leaving the state, but they have several options for conducting business with the Michigan Department of State while traveling or temporarily residing elsewhere. Information on registering to vote, participating in elections, and completing Secretary of State transactions is found in the next sections.

Renew vehicle tabs (Choose tab)

Per state law, you must provide proof of Michigan No-Fault insurance to renew your tabs and registration.

To renew your vehicle through Online Services, you will need your:

  • License plate number
  • Last four digits of the Vehicle Identification Number (VIN)
  • Valid credit or debit card (additional fees apply) or e-check/bank account number for payment

If you need to complete any additional transactions, update your vehicle information, or renew more than one vehicle at the same time, you will need to create or log into your online Secretary of State account.

Go to Online Services

To renew your vehicle by mail, you will need your:

  • Renewal notice
  • Return envelope included with your renewal notice
  • Copy of Michigan No-Fault insurance policy
  • Check/money order payable to the State of Michigan

If you lose or damage your return envelope, you can mail your renewal directly to:

Michigan Department of State
Internal Services Section
7064 Crowner Drive
Lansing, MI 48918

In addition to renewing your registration by mail, you can:

  • Change the address on your registration
  • Have registration sent to a different mailing address

Renew a license or ID (Choose tab)

To renew your license or ID through Online Services, you will need your:

  • Driver’s license or ID number
  • Last four digits of your Social Security number
  • Valid credit or debit card (additional fees apply) or e-check/bank account number for payment

You will also need to create or log into your Online Services account.

Go to Online Services

To renew your license or ID by mail, you will need your:

  • Renewal notice
  • Return envelope included with your renewal notice
  • Check/money order payable to the State of Michigan

If you lose or damage your return envelope, you can mail your renewal directly to:

Michigan Department of State
Internal Services Section
7064 Crowner Drive
Lansing, MI 48918

If your license or ID will expire within 1 year of the date you are traveling and you are required to visit a Secretary of State office to renew it, visit an office before your departure and provide your travel itinerary and current Michigan license or ID to renew early.

Please note, by state law, most residents only need to visit a Secretary of State office to renew their license or ID in person to take a new photo every 12 years.

Schedule an office visit

If you are required to renew your license or ID in person and won't return to Michigan prior to your license or ID expiring, you can request a special extension permit. To request a 180-day extension permit online, you will need your:

  • License or ID number
  • Last four digits of your Social Security number
  • Reason for requesting an extension
  • Access to a printer

Upon completing the extension request, select the prompt to print your permit directly from your device.

Go to Online Services

Replace a license or ID (Choose tab)

To replace your license or ID through Online Services, you will need your:

  • Driver’s license or ID number
  • Last four digits of your Social Security number
  • Valid credit or debit card (additional fees apply) or e-check/bank account number for payment

You will also need to create or log into your Online Services account.

Go to Online Services

To replace your license or ID by mail, you will need to:

  • Complete the Out‐Of‐State Resident Application for Duplicate Driver’s License or State ID
  • Check/money order payable to the State of Michigan or valid credit or debit card (additional fees apply) for payment

Submit your form and payment information to:

Michigan Department of State
Internal Services Section
7064 Crowner Drive
Lansing, MI 48918
Fax 517-636-5865

Out-of-State Duplicate License/ID Application

Title and register a vehicle (Choose tab)

If you purchase a vehicle while temporarily out of state, you can title and register your vehicle in Michigan by appointing an agent to transfer the vehicle title on your behalf at a Secretary of State office or submitting the necessary documents and payment by mail.

To title and register your vehicle, you will need to provide:

  • The original vehicle title (photocopies and electronic copies won't be accepted), including a complete and accurate odometer mileage reading, the seller’s signature, and a completed and signed purchaser’s section
  • Completed and signed Application for Michigan Vehicle Title
  • Proof of Michigan No-Fault insurance for the vehicle
  • A statement from the loan provider, if there has been a loan or lien against the vehicle
  • Payment for the $15 title transfer fee ($16 if there is a loan on the vehicle), registration fees, plus 6 percent sales tax

Application for Michigan Vehicle Title

If you authorize another individual to transfer your vehicle title on your behalf at a Secretary of State office, provide them with the above documents, plus the following:

  • A completed and signed Appointment of Agent form
  • A photo or copy of your Michigan driver’s license

Appointment of Agent form

To title and register your vehicle by mail, submit the above documents, as well as:

  • A check or money order made payable to the State of Michigan for the total amount of the title transfer fee, registration fees, and 6 percent sales tax.
  • A completed and signed Special Mailer of Certificate for Title form if the title will be sent to an address other than what is listed on the title application.

Mail all documents and payment to:

Michigan Department of State
Internal Services Section
7064 Crowner Drive
Lansing, MI 48918

If you have questions about registration fees or transferring your title by mail, call 517-636-5872.

Special Mailer of Certificate for Title form

Change an address

Residents who are out of state can update their residential and mailing address online or by mail at any time.

Go to Change of Address

Correct a license or ID

Corrections to your address may be completed online or by mail at any time. Changes or corrections to your name, date of birth, or adding and dropping endorsements require an in-person visit to a Secretary of State office.

Go to License or ID name correction

Go to License or ID sex designation correction

Order a duplicate title

Duplicate titles are $15. You can order one online through your Secretary of State account or by mail.

Note: The duplicate will be issued to the owner listed on the title.

Go to Online Services

Submit your duplicate title application and payment information to:

Michigan Department of State
Internal Services Section
7064 Crowner Drive
Lansing, MI 48918
Fax 517-636-5865

Duplicate Michigan Title Application

 

How do I register and vote while I'm out of state? (Choose tab)

Citizens who are eligible can register to vote and vote by absentee ballot while outside of Michigan.

If you have a valid Michigan license or ID, register to vote online. Note: You cannot register to vote online or by mail within 14 days of an election.

Register to vote

If you have a valid Michigan license or ID you may update your voter registration online. Note: You cannot update your voter registration online and vote within 14 days of an election.

Update voter registration

All Michigan voters can request an absentee ballot without providing a reason. You can request an absentee ballot online or by mail within 40 days of an election.

If returning your absentee ballot by mail, be sure to do so no later than 14 days prior to Election Day.

Additionally, to automatically receive an absentee ballot application before every election, sign up for the permanent absentee voter list online or by mail.

Request absentee ballot

Special services are provided to assist military and overseas civilian voters participate in elections.

Election Services

Register to vote: Download and submit a Federal Post Card Application (FPCA) to your local clerk’s office in Michigan.

Request an absentee ballot: In January of every year, or after any move, complete the Federal Post Card Application (FPCA) and select the option to receive an absentee ballot via email, fax, or regular mail. Submit your FPCA to your local clerk’s office in Michigan.

If you don't receive your requested ballot and are concerned of missing the ballot return deadline, you can use the Federal Write-In Absentee Ballot (FWAB) online assistant to help you fill out the form.

Voters covered under the Uniformed and Overseas Citizens Absentee Voting Act (UOCAVA) are eligible to use the Federal Post Card Application Form (FPCA) and receive an absentee ballot by email or fax. Covered voters include:

  • Members of the uniformed services on active duty who are absent from their city or township of residence. (Voter can be inside or outside the United States.)
  • Members of the Merchant Marine who, by reason of service in the Merchant Marine, are absent from their city or township of residence. (Voter can be inside or outside the United States.)
  • A spouse or dependent of a member of a uniformed service or a member of the Merchant Marine who, by reason of the active duty or service of the member, is absent from their city or township of residence. (Voter can be inside or outside the United States.)
  • A civilian voter who is outside the United States and is eligible to vote in Michigan.
  • A member of the National Guard activated on state orders.

You can track the status of your absentee ballot and request to receive an absentee ballot application overseas before every election by signing up for the permanent absentee voter list at Michigan.gov/Vote.

Go to the Federal Voter Assistance Program (FVAP.gov)

Go to Michigan.gov/Vote

Frequently asked questions (FAQs)

  • If you’re traveling or temporarily moving out of state:

    • Renew your vehicle registration and tab up to six months in advance online or at a self-service station before you leave.
    • Update your mailing address through Online Services prior to your departure.
    • If your license or ID will expire within one year of the date you are traveling and you are required to visit a Secretary of State office to renew it in person, visit an office before your departure and provide your travel itinerary and current Michigan license or ID to renew early.
    • If your license, ID, or registration is lost or stolen while you’re out of state, request a replacement through Online Services. Call 888-SOS-MICH (767-6424) if you are unable to complete the transaction online or need a credential faster for return travel.
    • If you will be out of state during an election, request an absentee ballot online or by mail up to 40 days before an election. It’s recommended that you mail your absentee ballot to your local clerk no fewer than 14 days before an election to ensure your ballot is received and can be tabulated by 8 p.m. on Election Day.

    If you’re establishing residency outside Michigan:

    • Before you leave, be sure you have a copy of your Michigan vehicle title(s). You can request a duplicate copy through your online Secretary of State account.
    • Remove your Michigan license plate from your vehicle if you are selling your vehicle. You will need to retain a copy of the completed and signed title for at least 18 months after the sale. After you sell your vehicle, remember to cancel your Michigan No-Fault vehicle insurance.
    • Keep your valid Michigan license or ID until you convert and are issued a license or ID by the new state/territory.
    • If you are a registered Michigan voter, contact your local clerk in writing to cancel your voter registration. Your request should include your full name, date of birth, Michigan address, contact information, and written signature.

    Go to Online Services

  • If you are eligible and have a valid Michigan license or ID number, you can register to vote online at Michigan.gov/Vote. If you don't have a Michigan license or ID, contact your local clerk.

    Go to Michigan.gov/Vote

  • Contact your local clerk as soon as possible. Clerk information can be located at Michigan.gov/Vote.

    Go to Michigan.gov/Vote

  • Michigan law allows owners of watercraft registered in another state use of Michigan waterways up to 60 days after which a Michigan registration is required. That means if a boat is stored or anchored in Michigan, and exclusively used on Michigan waterways over 60 days, the watercraft must be registered in Michigan.

    All sailboats, motorized watercraft, and hand-powered watercraft over 16 feet must be registered. A three-year transferable registration is issued, expiring March 31.

    If you register your watercraft in Michigan, you can renew your registration decal by mail up to 45 days in advance. Request a replacement decal by mail or via email at RenewalByMail@Michigan.gov.

  • Michigan Department of State
    Internal Services Section
    888-767-6424
    517-636-5872
    MDOS-SpecialServices@Michigan.gov