Skip to main content

License or ID sex designation correction

How can I correct my sex designation on my driver's license or ID?

Unavailable for
this transaction

Unavailable button

Unavailable for
this transaction

Unavailable button

Unavailable for
this transaction

Unavailable button

Office visit

Complete your business
in an average of 20 minutes

Schedule an office visit

What do I need to correct my sex designation on my license or ID? (Choose tab below)

To correct the sex designation on your license or ID at a Secretary of State office, you will need to provide your current Michigan license or ID. During your office visit, you will take a new photo for your license or ID.

To correct the sex designation on your license or ID, you will need to complete a Sex Designation Form. You may complete the form before visiting an office and bring it with you or request a form to complete during your office visit.

Sex Designation Form

Provide payment using a credit or debit card (additional fees apply), cash, or check or money order made payable to the State of Michigan for the license or ID correction fee.

Frequently asked questions (FAQs)

  • You can denote your sex on your license or ID as nonbinary (X), female (F), or male (M).

  • Driver’s license – $9
    ID – $10

  • Our staff will take a new photo and issue you a temporary paper credential to use until your corrected driver’s license or ID arrives in the mail.

  • No, submitting a Sex Designation Form will only correct the sex designation on your license or ID and cannot be used to apply to change your name on your credential or any other municipal, state or federal identification records.


    License or ID name correction
  • Yes, you can update your standard license or ID to a REAL ID-compliant version at the time of changing your sex designation. To do so, you must also provide documentation proving your legal presence in the United States.

    REAL ID information

  • Unless you opt out or are already registered to vote in Michigan, you will be automatically registered to vote at the time of updating your license or ID. If you are already registered to vote, your voter registration status won’t change after updating your license or ID.

    Check your voter registration status

  • No. Because sex designation isn’t recorded on voter registration, your voter registration information won’t change after changing your sex designation on your license or ID, provided that no other aspects of your registration have changed (i.e. your name, address, etc.). If you have changed your address, you will need to update your voter registration information. You may update your voter registration online or at your local clerk’s office.

    Update your voter registration

  • No. When you arrive to vote, state law requires that you provide photo ID. However, poll workers aren’t instructed to verify sex designation before issuing a ballot and you aren’t required to provide verification.

    If you don’t have your ID or if there is a question about your identity, you are permitted to sign an affidavit, under the penalty of perjury, that you are who you claim to be, and you will be issued a special ballot to be counted on Election Day. For more information, contact your local clerk’s office or the Michigan Bureau of Elections.

    Contact your local clerk

  • We are committed to providing excellent customer service. As part of this commitment, we are working with community groups to develop training for our staff on implicit bias and working with various marginalized groups. If you have any questions or concerns about how your request was handled, please contact us clicking the button below or email our office at Secretary@Michigan.gov.

    Contact us


Still have questions?

More FAQs