Skip to main content

Motorcycle endorsement

How do I add a motorcycle endorsement to my license?

Online

Add endorsement online

Go to Online Services

Unavailable for this transaction

Unavailable button

Self-service station

Add endorsement at a self-service station

Find a self-service station

Office visit

Complete your business in an average of 20 minutes

Schedule an office visit

What do I need to add a motorcycle endorsement to my license? (Choose tab below)

To add a motorcycle endorsement online, you must:

  • Be at least 18 years old
  • Have a valid Michigan driver’s license
  • Have passed either an approved motorcycle rider education course offered by a public or private sponsor, or a rider skills test offered by an approved driver testing business
  • Visit Online Services
  • Locate the Driver’s License and ID section and select the link “More Driver Services”
  • Create or log into your Secretary of State online account and follow the screen prompts to complete your transaction
  • Pay using a credit or debit card (additional fees apply) or e-check/bank account number. A motorcycle endorsement is $16.

Go to Online Services

This transaction isn't available by mail.

To add a motorcycle endorsement at a self-service station, you must:

  • Have passed either a motorcycle rider education course offered by a public or private sponsor, or a rider skills test offered by an approved driver testing business
  • Be renewing your driver’s license
  • Enter your driver’s license number
  • Follow the screen prompts to renew your license and add a motorcycle endorsement
  • Pay with a debit/credit card (additional fees apply) or cash (at specific locations). A motorcycle endorsement is $16. Additional license renewal fees will apply.

A $3.95 service fee will be charged for each item transacted at a self-service station.

Find a self-service station

To add a motorcycle endorsement at an office, you must:

  • Have passed either an approved motorcycle rider education course offered by a public or private sponsor, or a rider skills test offered by an approved driver testing business
  • Have a valid Michigan driver’s license
  • Cash, check, money order, or credit or debit card (additional fees will apply). A motorcycle endorsement is $16.

Schedule an office visit

Frequently asked questions (FAQs)

  • A motorcycle is a two- or three-wheeled motor vehicle with a saddle or seat that can attain speeds greater than 30 mph on a level surface. Some vehicles, such as “pocket rockets” or “mini choppers,” may meet this definition but don’t have all the equipment required by Michigan law to legally drive them on public roads and won’t be registered by the Michigan Department of State.

    A moped has an engine displacement not exceeding 100 cc, no manual gearshift, and is capable of no more than 30 mph on a level surface.

    A scooter may be classified as either a moped or motorcycle, depending on its size and performance.

  • Michigan offers two options for obtaining a motorcycle endorsement:

    • Complete an approved Michigan Rider Education Program (MI-REP) training course, or
    • Obtain a motorcycle Temporary Instruction Permit (CY TIP) at a Secretary of State office, practice riding with an experienced motorcyclist for up to 180 days and pass a rider skills test offered by an approved driver testing business.
  • For the Basic RiderCourse (BRC), you will need to bring a driver's license or photo identification, a U.S. Department of Transportation (DOT) approved helmet, eye protection, a long-sleeved shirt, long pants, full-fingered gloves, and leather boots that cover your ankles.

    For the advanced courses (BRC2, RRBRC, ARC), you will need everything required for the Basic RiderCourse, plus your own road-worthy motorcycle and valid proof of insurance. Check with your course sponsor for more information when you register.

  • We offer a variety of classes for motorcyclists of all skill levels.

    Basic RiderCourse (BRC) is for the novice rider and covers the fundamentals of operating a motorcycle. Successful completion will allow riders to obtain a motorcycle endorsement.

    Three-Wheel Basic RiderCourse (3WBRC) is specifically designed for three-wheeled motorcycles. The course includes four hours of classroom activities and up to eight hours of on-cycle riding exercises. Students passing this course are eligible only for the three-wheel motorcycle endorsement.

    Returning Rider-Basic RiderCourse (RRBRC) is a one-day waiver class for motorcyclists who possess basic skills, but who may have not been riding for several years and want to obtain their motorcycle endorsement.

    Basic RiderCourse 2 (BRC2) is a one-day waiver class for motorcyclists with riding experience who want to brush up on their skills and obtain their motorcycle endorsement.

    Advanced RiderCourse (ARC) is for experienced, endorsed riders looking to improve their skills, including swerving, turning, and quick stops. Motorcycling organizations may require this course before participants can register for group rides. The ARC is for riders with a CY endorsement already on their license.

  • Michigan accepts certain motorcycle training curriculums and courses as waiver substitutes for motorcycle rider training courses in Michigan.

    If you have successfully completed one of these courses and wish to obtain your cycle endorsement on your driver’s license, you must provide a valid certificate of completion from the provider of the course. The certificate of completion must be one year or less from the date of the endorsement application and include a certifying/authorized signature and the date of the course completion.

  • If you previously had a motorcycle endorsement that was dropped within the last four years and proof of the endorsement can be established, the endorsement can be reissued (the knowledge and skills tests are waived).

    If the motorcycle endorsement was dropped more than four years ago, you must pass a motorcycle rider safety course, or pass a motorcycle knowledge test, obtain a motorcycle TIP, and pass a rider skills test.

  • A motorcycle Temporary Instruction Permit (CY TIP) is a transitory tool used to obtain the motorcycle endorsement. It gives new riders an opportunity to practice riding on public roads under the constant supervision of an experienced motorcyclist before taking the motorcycle skills test. To obtain a CY TIP, you must:

    • Be at least 16 years old
    • (If you are 16 or 17, you must show proof of enrollment in a motorcycle rider safety training course. A parent’s signature is also required unless the applicant is an emancipated minor.)
    • Hold a valid Michigan driver’s license
    • Pass the vision test
    • Pass the motorcycle written knowledge test
    • Pay the TIP fee

    The TIP is valid for 180 days. While driving on a motorcycle TIP, you cannot ride at night or carry passengers and you must be under the constant visual supervision of a licensed motorcycle operator who is at least 18 years old.

    Michigan law allows the issuance of no more than two motorcycle TIPs within a 10-year period. If your second TIP has expired or if you have failed two motorcycle skills tests, you must pass a motorcycle safety course to obtain your motorcycle endorsement.

  • You can request a duplicate for a motorcycle TIP that was lost, stolen, or mutilated for a replacement fee of $9.

  • Only if the moped or scooter meets the legal definition of a motorcycle.

    Otherwise, to operate a moped on public roads, you must have either a moped license or a standard, enhanced or chauffeur’s license, a GDL Level 1 license with a moped privilege added, or a GDL Level 2 or Level 3 license.