Skip to main content

Notary application

How can I apply to become a notary?

Unavailable for this transaction

Unavailable button

Unavailable for this transaction

Unavailable button

What do I need to apply to become a notary? (Choose tab below)

To apply online to become a notary, you will need to:

  • Complete the online “Notary Application” on our Online Services page under “Notary Services.”
  • Print your completed application.
  • Obtain a $10,000 surety bond from an insurance agency or bonding company and take it along with your application to your county clerk, pay the county filing fee, and take the oath administered by the county clerk’s office.
  • Use Online Services to upload your final application and pay the $10 nonrefundable processing fee by credit or debit card (additional fees will apply) or e-check/bank account number.

Online Services

Notary services

To apply by mail to become a notary, you will need to:

  • Print the Michigan Notary Public Application and Instructions. You can type your information into the form and print it, or you can print the application and complete it by hand.
  • Obtain a $10,000 surety bond from an insurance agency or bonding company and take it along with your application to your county clerk, pay the county filing fee, and take the oath administered by the county clerk’s office.
  • Mail the completed application with the $10 nonrefundable processing fee (check or money order payable to the “State of Michigan”) to:

    Michigan Department of State
    Office of the Great Seal
    7064 Crowner Drive
    Lansing, MI 48918

Printable application

Notary services

This transaction is unavailable at self-service stations.

This transaction is unavailable at Secretary of State offices.

Frequently asked questions (FAQs)

  • A notary public is an officer commissioned by the Michigan Secretary of State to serve as an unbiased and impartial witness on business, public and other documents. The most common function of the notary is to prevent fraud by attesting to the identity of a person signing a document. A notarization on a document certifies that the person whose signature is entered on the document personally appeared before the notary, established their identity, and personally signed the document in the presence of the notary.

    • Be at least 18 years old.
    • Be a Michigan resident or maintain a place of business in Michigan.
    • Be a U.S. citizen or possess proof of legal presence.
    • Be a resident of the county (or maintain a principal place of business) in which you request appointment.
    • Read and write in the English language.
    • Be free of any felony convictions within the past 10 years.
    • Have not been convicted of two (2) or more misdemeanor offenses involving a violation of the Michigan Notary Public Act within a 12-month period while commissioned, or three (3) or more misdemeanor offenses involving a violation of this act within a five-year period regardless of being commissioned.
    • Sign a declaration that all information on the application is correct, that you have read the Michigan Notary Public Act, and that you will perform all notarial acts faithfully.
  • Yes. As with any notarization of documents you must remember to include your name as it appears on your notary public certificate, the county of appointment, date of expiration, and "Acting in the County of ____________."

  • No. You can only notarize in Michigan.


Still have questions?

More FAQs