Skip to main content

About Michigan Lobbyable Public Official

Section 6 of the Lobby Registration Act defines a Public Official as an official in the Executive or Legislative Branch of State Government. Officials in the Executive Branch and the Legislative branch are further specified under Section 5. Presidents of the Universities listed are also considered Public Officials. Following are links to listings of officials in each of those branches. 

Executive Branch

Officials in the executive branch are specified under Section 5(9) and include the governor, lieutenant governor, secretary of state, attorney general; or an individual who is in the executive branch of state government and not under civil service; a classified director, chief deputy director, or deputy director of a state department and certain other officers and commissions within each department. 

Michigan Department of Agriculture & Rural Development

Michigan Department of Attorney General

Michigan Department of Corrections

Michigan Department of Environment, Great Lakes, & Energy

Michigan Department of Insurance & Financial Services

Michigan Department of Labor and Economic Opportunity (LEO)

Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs

Michigan Department of State

Michigan Department of Treasury

All Other Departments

Legislative Branch

Officials in the legislative branch are specified under Section 5(10) and include a member of the legislature (state representatives and state senators), the auditor general, the deputy auditor general and the director of the legislative retirement system.

State Representatives

State Senators

Legislative Retirement System

Auditor General

Universities - Presidents of the following universities are public officials:

Central Michigan

Eastern Michigan

Ferris State

Grand Valley State

Lake Superior State

Michigan Technological

Michigan State

Northern Michigan

Oakland University

Saginaw Valley State

University of Michigan

Wayne State

Western Michigan