Skip to main content

Secretary Benson announces list of Michigan Collegiate Voting Challenge participants

Encourages attendance of Michigan Student Voting Summit

Secretary of State Jocelyn Benson announced today the list of schools participating in the Michigan Collegiate Voting Challenge, a nonpartisan competition between higher education institutions in Michigan to increase student participation and engagement in the voting process. The challenge was developed as part of a collaboration between the Michigan Department of State and the ALL IN Campus Democracy Challenge.

“The Michigan Collegiate Voting Challenge is a fun, data-driven way to encourage our colleges and universities to fully harness the passion many young people feel about affecting change in their communities, and channeling that passion into the democratic process,” said Secretary Benson. “We’re excited about the number of schools participating, and look forward to seeing the growth in engagement that will come from this challenge.”

The 34 schools across the state participating in the challenge, which is free for educational institutions to join, will be provided guidance and tools and commit to creating an action plan to increase student engagement on campuses. Higher education institutions who have not yet joined the challenge are encouraged to visit to learn more and sign up to participate.

  • Central Michigan University
  • College for Creative Studies
  • Davenport University
  • Delta College
  • Eastern Michigan University
  • Ferris State University
  • Grand Valley State University
  • Henry Ford College
  • Hope College
  • Kalamazoo College
  • Keweenaw Bay Ojibwa Community College
  • Lake Michigan College
  • Lake Superior State University
  • Lansing Community College
  • Lawrence Technological University
  • Madonna University
  • Michigan State University
  • Michigan Technological University
  • Mid Michigan College
  • Mott Community College
  • Muskegon Community College
  • Northern Michigan University
  • Oakland Community College
  • Oakland University
  • Saginaw Valley State University
  • Siena Heights University
  • Southwestern Michigan College
  • Clair County Community College
  • University of Michigan Ann Arbor
  • University of Michigan Dearborn
  • University of Michigan Flint
  • Washtenaw Community College
  • Wayne State University
  • Western Michigan University

The ALL IN Challenge and the Campus Vote Project have also joined together to host the Michigan Student Voting Summit this week, where Secretary Benson will be speaking this Friday, May 29. All those interested in increasing voter registration and turnout amongst students, as well as encouraging civic participation on campuses, are encouraged to sign up and attend the virtual event.

“With our state set to play a pivotal role in the presidential election this year, more Michiganders than ever before are excited about participating in the democratic process,” said Secretary Benson. “This is particularly true for students and those on college campuses, and so I would encourage anyone interested in learning more about engaging those groups to attend the summit.”

To learn more about the Michigan Collegiate Voting Challenge visit, and to learn more about the ALL IN Challenge visit Sign up for the summit.

# # #