Skip to main content

Benson Celebrates Michigan Winners of U.S. Election Assistance Commission's Clearinghouse Awards

Secretary of State Jocelyn Benson celebrated three Michigan winners of the U.S. Election Assistance Commission’s (EAC) Clearinghouse Awards announced today.

“Countless individuals across Michigan worked extremely hard to carry out a safe, secure and accurate election, but so many also went above and beyond to inform and engage voters and innovate the way elections are conducted,” Benson said. “I am extremely proud of the winners announced today, their recognition is well-deserved. Congratulations to all.”

The three Michigan winners of the 2020 Clearinghouse Awards include:

  • The Canton Township Clerk’s Office, which received an Outstanding Innovations in Elections for Small Jurisdictions Award for their “Four Tools to Enhance Election Services”
  • The City of Ann Arbor, which received an award for Creative and Original “I Voted” Sticker Design
  • The Ottawa County Clerk/Register of Deeds Office, Elections Division, which received an Outstanding Innovations in Election Cybersecurity and Technology award in recognition of their #OttawaVotes Voter Information Campaign.

The U.S. Election Assistance Commission (EAC) was established by the Help America Vote Act of 2002 (HAVA) and is an independent, bipartisan commission charged with developing guidance to meet HAVA requirements, adopting voluntary voting system guidelines and serving as a national clearinghouse of information on election administration. Each year the EAC invites submissions for its national Clearinghouse Awards. The full list of this year’s winners can be found here.

# # #