Skip to main content

Secretary Benson names 25 students to the CSATF

Secretary of State Jocelyn Benson today announced the 25 students selected to serve on the Michigan Department of State's Collegiate Student Advisory Task Force. For the next year, the task force will convene to determine and implement recommendations to improve voter education and engagement among young people on college and university campuses across Michigan.

"This is a critical time in our nation's democracy, and it is vital that student voices are at the table," Benson said. "The task force will play an important role empowering and engaging student voters across Michigan to ensure their voices are heard on Election Day and beyond. I look forward to their recommendations and supporting their work to improve voter education, engagement, and participation among young people."

The students represent 18 community colleges, colleges, and universities statewide and were chosen from among nearly 200 applicants to represent their institution of higher education. Members will serve as civic engagement liaisons between the Secretary of State's office and their respective campuses throughout 2022, utilizing their diverse perspectives and experiences to inform their peers of their voting rights, promote awareness of the newly redistricted electoral maps, and combat and dispel election misinformation on college campuses.

Those named to the task force are:

Ibrahim Ahmad of Dearborn - Wayne State University
Nikolas Baker of Standish - Saginaw Valley State University
Naomi Barbour of Adrian - Eastern Michigan University
Melia Conners of Canton - Schoolcraft Community College
Christian Dunn of Flint - University of Michigan-Flint
Kate Ellison of Midland - Central Michigan University
Gwendolyn Feamster of Marquette - Northern Michigan University
Jack Harrison of Ann Arbor - Michigan State University
Alexis Hirst of Clinton Township - Siena Heights University
Jeremy M. Johnson of Grand Blanc - Oakland University
Charles-John Manansala of Menominee - Bay College
Ramon Martinez Garcia of Battle Creek - Kellogg Community College
Jocelyn Medina of Wyoming - Grand Valley State University
Akhila Mullapudi of Farmington Hills - University of Michigan - Ann Arbor
Natasha Mwila or Livonia - Albion College 
Ant Neal of Chicago, IL - Albion College
Rosalind Niemeier of De Pere, WI - Calvin University
Diva Patel of Kawkawlin - Saginaw Valley State University
Abbie Pinter of Bay City - Central Michigan University
Rose Reilly of Dexter - University of Michigan - Ann Arbor
Hannah Richardson of Forest Hills - Michigan State University
Iris Sorrell of Antwerp, OH - Adrian College
Hemanth Tadepalli of Troy - Kettering University
Anna Van Hese of Madison Heights - Oakland University
Fatima Yahya of West Bloomfield - Wayne State University

This the second iteration of the Michigan Collegiate Student Advisory Task Force. The report written by the previous cohort is available at


# # #