The web Browser you are currently using is unsupported, and some features of this site may not work as intended. Please update to a modern browser such as Chrome, Firefox or Edge to experience all features Michigan.gov has to offer.
Licenses & Requirements
To become a trainee, an applicant must submit an application with the required fee. A trainee is required to work under the direction and supervision of a licensed hearing aid dealer. A trainee who changes his or her supervising hearing aid dealer during his or her training is required to submit a transfer application to the department.
A Hearing Aid Salesperson is an individual who engages in the sale or offering for sale at retail of a hearing aid and who is an employee of a hearing aid dealer.
Applicants for the Hearing Aid Salesperson license must be at least 18 years of age, a graduate from an accredited high school or secondary school, must have served as a licensed trainee for at least 6 months and successfully pass an examination prescribed by the department.
A salesperson who changes his or her supervising hearing aid dealer is required to submit transfer application to the department.
A Hearing Aid Dealer is an individual who engages in the sale or offering for sale at retail of a hearing aid.
Applicants for the Hearing Aid Dealer license must be at least 18 years of age, a graduate of an accredited high school or secondary school, have served as a hearing aid salesperson for a period of 2 years under the direction and supervision of a licensed hearing aid dealer and have successfully passed an examination prescribed by the department and the board.
As an alternative, the department will consider possession of an M.A. degree in Audiology and a certificate of clinical competency from the American Speech-Language Hearing Association to be the equivalent of the two and one-half years experience required by Article 13.
An applicant from another state who possesses a hearing aid license and has taken a written examination may waive portions of the Michigan examination if the department determines that the applicant's state has an equivalent examination to that of Michigan's.