Skip to main content

Nurse Aide Registry

ALERT

Effective March 7, 2024, the biennial fees for registration or renewal to practice as a nurse aide will be $40.  The fee for the nurse aide competency examination will be $175.00, per examination.  The fee changes are pursuant to the amendment of the Public Health Code, MCL 333.21919.

 
  • On July 26, 2023, the Michigan Department of Licensing & Regulatory Affairs, Bureau of Community and Health Systems, has taken over the Nurse Aide Registry from Headmaster, L.L.P. The new software system used to maintain the nurse aide registry by the Bureau is called MI-NATES:  Michigan Nurse Aide, Training, and Enforcement System (MI-NATES). The Michigan Nurse Aide Registry pulls it’s data of active nurse aides from the MI-NATES system.
     
    MI-NATES WILL BE UTILIZED FOR: 

    • Electronic Submission and Payments for Nurse Aide Applications and Renewals
    • Printing your Certificate of Registration
    • Reviewing or Updating Your Registration Information

    Steps to access MI-NATES:

    Click here for a helpful guide to walk you through the account setup instructions:  MILogin/MI-NATES Account Setup Guide.

    Click here to view the MI-NATES user guide for Nurse Aides.

    NOTE: It is recommended that MI-NATES be utilized using a personal computer and not a hand held mobile device.

    RECOMMENDED BROWSER: It is recommended that all users access MI-NATES through the Google Chrome web browser. MI-NATES is supported for use with Google Chrome and Microsoft Edge however, Google Chrome will ensure the best user experience.

  • An individual under the age of 18 may be employed as a nurse aide in a nursing home or health care facility provided employment is compliant with the Youth Employment Standards Act, 1978 Public Act 90. Of special note, under the general duty clause of the act, minors under the age of 16 years may not be exposed to communicable or contagious diseases, bloodborne pathogens, AIDS, HIV, or hepatitis. Minors aged 16-17 years may work where exposure to bloodborne pathogens is likely provided the employer is compliant with MIOSHA Standard 554. Exempt minors as listed in question 19 of Michigan Wage and Hour’s FAQs are an exception. For more information visit www.michigan.gov/wagehour or contact WHINFO@michigan.gov. There is no age requirement for training, only employment.

  • The Michigan Nurse Aide Registry is maintained by the Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs, Bureau of Community and Health Systems.  The registry contains a list of all active nurse aide registrations and some lapsed registrations based upon our records retention schedule. If there is a substantiated finding of abuse, neglect or misappropriation of resident property the finding will be permanently displayed on the registry. The registry can be found  at the following link: https://nurseaideregistry.apps.lara.state.mi.us/.

    Any questions regarding the Michigan Nurse Aide Registry can be directed to:
    Bureau of Community and Health Systems
    Nurse Aide and Workforce Section
    Phone:  (517) 284-8961
  • The state of Michigan does not conduct testing of nurse aide candidates.  The Bureau of Community and Health Systems contracts with Headmaster, L.L.P. to conduct Nurse Aide Certification Exams. Any questions regarding the testing process should be directed to:

    D & S Diversified Technologies - Headmaster
    Phone:  (888) 401-0462
    Email:   Michigan@hdmaster.com
    Website:  https://hdmaster.com/testing/cnatesting/michigan/MI_CNA_Home.htm

    To obtain a certificate of registration as a nurse aide in the state of Michigan, new candidates must:

    • Complete a Michigan permitted nurse aide training program.
    • To locate a permitted training program in Michigan, review the Regional Training Program Map below.
    • After successful completion of a state approved nurse aide training program, a candidate must sign in with Headmaster to schedule a written/oral exam and clinical skills demonstration exam.

    A graduate nurse aide awaiting an exam from Headmaster can work in a facility as a temporary nurse aide for up to four months if they have graduated from a state permitted nurse aide training program. If they have not passed testing with Headmaster within four months, the individual is no longer eligible to work in a facility as a nurse aide.

    Please see the Nurse Aide Federal Rules & Regulation  42 CFR 483.35.

    For renewals or lapsed certificates, see Renewal Notice.

  • Upon successful completion of both the written/oral and clinical exam, the applicant must complete the following in order to obtain a certificate of registration:

    Click here for a helpful guide to walk you through the account setup instructions:  MILogin/MI-NATES Account Setup Guide.

    Click here to view the MI-NATES user guide for Nurse Aides.

  • To renew a CNA certificate, an individual must electronically:

    • Log into your account in MI-NATES and submit a renewal application.
    • Acknowledge proof of employment providing nursing or nursing related services for monetary compensation (for a minimum of 40 hours in the last 24 months).
    • Effective March 23, 2026, an attestation must be provided indicating that at least 12 hours annually of continuing education has been completed within the renewal period [Rule 400.315].  Continuing education must ensure the continuing competence of the nurse aide and must include abuse, neglect, and care plan training.
      • The statute or rules do not specify the continuing education course or source required. When attesting to completing the requirement during renewal, the nurse aide must maintain documentation demonstrating that they have completed a course, training, etc., including, but not limited to, abuse, neglect, or care planning. However, the education must be relevant to providing nursing related services. Documentation must show course name, location, hours of course, topic, and date completed to demonstrate compliance with R 400.315 if requested by the department for auditing purposes.
    • Pay the renewal fee ($40).

    Important information regarding renewing a CNA Certificate:

    • The Bureau of Community and Health Systems will send an electronic renewal notice, via email, 45 days before the expiration date listed on the certificate.
      • To receive this notice, it is important that your contact information is accurate in the MI-NATES system.
    • A certificate must be renewed prior to the expiration date listed on the current certificate.
    • It is encouraged to submit renewal requests and payment as soon as possible after receipt of a renewal notice (but not earlier than 45 days before the certification expiration date).
    • A renewal certificate is good for 24 months from the last certificate’s expiration date.
    • If a renewal is not submitted timely, or is incomplete, the certificate will lapse the day after the expiration date.
    • An individual may not work as a CNA with a lapsed or expired certificate.

    Important information regarding a lapsed CNA certificate less than 24 months of its expiration date:

    • Individual will follow the standard renewal process above.
    • The individual is still required to acknowledge that they worked providing nursing or nursing related services for monetary compensation within the last 24 months prior to the expiration of the certificate.
    • If a lapsed certificate is renewed, the renewed certificate will only be valid for 24 months from the last certificate's expiration date.

    Important information regarding a lapsed CNA certificate greater than 24 months of its expiration date or an individual that cannot acknowledge the employment requirement within the last 24 months:

    • An individual must be removed from the registry in accordance with federal regulations and must retake a state-approved nurse aide training course and competency examination.   An individual must apply as a new initial certification.
    • For applicants that currently hold a nurse aide certification in another state, the State of Michigan will grant reciprocity under the conditions listed in Section 333.21913 of the Michigan Public Health Code.

      Candidates seeking reciprocity must be in good standing from a state that meets the Michigan requirements for reciprocity to be eligible for certification in Michigan.

      To obtain a certificate of registration in Michigan, using reciprocity from an approved state, an applicant must complete the following:

      APPROVED STATES - RECIPROCITY

      The following States meet or exceed the Michigan requirements:

      • Alabama
      • Alaska
      • Arizona
      • Arkansas
      • California
      • Colorado
      • Connecticut
      • Georgia
      • Hawaii
      • Idaho
      • Illinois
      • Indiana
      • Iowa
      • Kansas
      • Kentucky
      • Louisiana
      • Maine
      • Mississippi
      • Missouri
      • Nebraska
      • Nevada
      • New Hampshire
      • New Jersey
      • New Mexico
      • New York
      • North Dakota
      • Ohio
      • Oklahoma
      • Oregon
      • Pennsylvania
      • South Carolina
      • South Dakota
      • Tennessee
      • Texas
      • Utah
      • Washington
      • Wisconsin
      A candidate that has passed training and testing in one of the above states is eligible to apply for a Michigan CNA certificate via the MI-NATES system.

      A candidate that did not undergo training and testing from a State listed above is not eligible for reciprocity.

      Michigan requirements for reciprocity includes, but not limited to:

          • The training program is consistent with the Federal Code of Regulations.
          • Requires a minimum of 75 course hours prior to taking a competency evaluation examination.
          • Does not allow candidates to exempt out of the training course hours or testing.
  • To verify whether an individual is a certified nurse aide in Michigan or for other information, please visit the registry at the following link:  https://nurseaideregistry.apps.lara.state.mi.us/.

    Any questions regarding the Michigan Nurse Aide Registry can be directed to:

    Bureau of Community and Health Systems
    Nurse Aide and Workforce Section
    Phone:  (517) 284-8961
    Email:  BCHS-CNA-Registry@michigan.gov

    Verification of current Michigan CNA certification via the nurse aide registry is sufficient documentation during onsite inspections by the State of Michigan.  Please see the Nurse Aide Federal Rules & Regulations 42 CFR 483.35 and 42 CFR 483.5.

    A graduate nurse aide awaiting an exam from Headmaster can work in a facility as a temporary nurse aide for up to four months if they have graduated from a state permitted nurse aide training program. If they have not passed testing with Headmaster within four months, the individual is no longer eligible to work in a facility as a nurse aide.

    Please see the Nurse Aide Federal Rules & Regulation 42 CFR 483.35.


    Long Term Care facilities must:

    • Conduct a performance review of all nurse aides at least once every 12 months.
    • Provide regular in-service education based on the outcome of the performance reviews. The in-service training must:
      • Ensure the continuing competence of all employed nurse aides,
      • Must be a minimum of 12 hours per year.
      • Comply with the requirements listed in 42 CFR 483.95.
  • The Bureau of Community and Health Systems is charged with regulating nurse aides on the registry in the state of Michigan. Under state and federal law, 333.21901-333.219250 and 42 USC 1395 i-3 (g) (1) (C).  The Bureau may take action against a nurse aide for abuse, neglect and misappropriation of resident property as well as other violations.

    Click here for a printer friendly version of the Michigan Public Health Code, Part 219.

    Nurse aides that have been found to have abused or misappropriated the property of a resident will be revoked on the nurse aide registry permanently and the finding will be permanently listed on the registry. The only exception is for neglect.

  • In the case of a finding of neglect; a nurse aide revoked on the registry for a minimum of 1 year. After 1 year from the date of the finding on the registry, the nurse aide may petition the Bureau by sending a request to the manager of the Nurse Aide & Workforce Section to have the negative finding removed from the registry. The request will be reviewed within 30 days.

    All requests must be submitted via the MI-NATES system. 

  • Nurse Aide Federal Rules & Regulations Part 483

    Nurse Aide Federal Rules & Regulations Part 488

    Michigan Public Health Code 333.21901-21925

    42 USC 1395i-3

    The Bureau of Community and Health Systems is pleased to announce the Administrative Rules were filed with the Great Seal and are effective as of March 23, 2023.

    The Administrative Rules can be viewed at the following link: MI Admin Code

     
  • Image of map

    In collaboration with the Department of Technology, Management, and Budget's (DTMB) Center for Shared Solutions, this MAP of state permitted Nurse Aide Training Programs. We hope you find this resource valuable.

    Launch Map

  • Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs
    Bureau of Community & Health Systems
    Nurse Aide  Workforce Section
    E-mail: BCHS-CNA-Registry@michigan.gov
    Nurse Aide Phone: 517-284-8961
    Bureau Phone: 517-335-1980

    Headmaster contact Information:

    U.S. Mail:

    Headmaster, L.L.P.
    P.O. Box 6609
    Helena, MT 59604

    Phone:

    888-401-0465

    Email:

    michigan@hdmaster.com

    Website:

    https://hdmaster.com/testing/cnatesting/michigan/MI_CNA_Home.htm