Secretary of State Collegiate Student Advisory Task Force

Michigan Secretary of State Student Collegiate Advisory Task Force

Secretary Benson and Task Force members at LCC



Press Releases

Collegiate Student Advisory Task Force Members

  • Adam Abusalah of Dearborn – Central Michigan University
  • Stuart Baum of West Bloomfield – Wayne State University
  • Ian Berlin of Huntington Woods – Oakland University
  • Michaela Bishop of Davisburg – Oakland Community College
  • Tuhin Chakraborty of Ann Arbor – University of Michigan
  • Peter Damerow of Fowlerville – Lansing Community College
  • Demitria Dawson of Roseville – Henry Ford College
  • Carolina Dominguez of Ann Arbor – University of Michigan
  • Jeron Dotson of Grand Blanc – University of Michigan – Flint
  • Brogan Eisler of DeWitt – Lansing Community College
  • Nesreen Ezzeddine of Dearborn Heights – University of Michigan
  • Adam Green of Goodrich – Michigan State University
  • Jake Hendricks of Traverse City – Central Michigan University
  • Steffanie Hills of Redford – Schoolcraft College
  • Sean Huizing of Grand Rapids – Grand Rapids Community College
  • Ariana Johnson of Marshall – Western Michigan University
  • Zoé Ketola of Houghton – Michigan Technological University
  • Kimberly Kozal of Whitmore Lake – Washtenaw Community College
  • Josephine Luttman of Elkton – Saginaw Valley State University
  • Hope Miller of Manistee – Kalamazoo College
  • Talyce Murray of Lansing – Michigan State University
  • Jacob Ogea of Marquette – Northern Michigan University
  • Carter Oselett of East Lansing – Michigan State University
  • Anthony Rospierski of Beaverton – Northern Michigan University
  • Atia Siddiqui of Canton – University of Michigan – Dearborn
  • Maysa Sitar of Newberry – Michigan State University
  • Caitlin St. Clair of Big Rapids – Ferris State University
  • Paul Stephens of Oxford – Kettering University
  • Katelyn Smith of Chesterfield Township – Lake Superior State University
  • Eric-John Szczepaniak of Grand Rapids – Grand Valley State University
  • William Thayer of Allendale – Grand Valley State University
  • Jessica Thompson of Davison Township – Macomb Community College
  • Kyle Vickery of Kalamazoo – Michigan State University

About the Collegiate Student Advisory Task Force

In September 2019, Secretary of State Jocelyn Benson formed a first-of-its kind Collegiate Student Advisory Task Force to help improve voter engagement among their young voters. Members of the task force include 33 students from over 20 college, community college and universities throughout Michigan.

Benson believes that every voice should be heard in our democracy. Historically, students in Michigan faced significant barriers to voting and participated in elections at lower rates than older age groups. Benson is establishing the task force to combat this historic participation gap.

The task force will convene students from around the state who are both energized about and involved in voter engagement, bringing their diverse experiences on various campuses to this project. The group will advise on the unique challenges encountered by voters age 18 to 24 and produce recommendations to the secretary of state that encompass administrative, programmatic, and legislative changes or initiatives to encourage young people to vote. The goal is to ensure students’ voices are heard in our democracy as we implement the recent Promote the Vote constitutional amendment.

The work of this task force and the Michigan Department of State and Bureau of Elections more broadly is strictly nonpartisan. We are thrilled to convene a task force of members from various perspectives and experiences. We expect task force members to engage in civic engagement and voter participation in a nonpartisan manner when doing so in their capacity as a task force member.

The task force will meet three times between September and November 2019, with final recommendations submitted in mid- to late-November 2019. In 2020, task force members will continue to work with the Secretary of State’s Office as student engagement liaisons on their respective campuses. In this capacity, students will serve as organizers and trusted sources of information for their peers, and the Secretary of State’s Office will continue to contact liaisons with updated voting information and tools.