DNR Project Boundaries Maps

Project boundaries are geographic lines that help define the state’s public lands acquisition and disposal strategy (Michigan's Managed Public Land Strategy). As part of the strategy, we will improve project boundary alignments of public lands to more closely reflect actual land ownership. There currently are about 1.9 million acres of privately owned lands scattered within the project boundaries.

The following maps show the boundaries that were approved by the Natural Resources Commission in May, 2004. The maps for each county show the project boundaries overlaid on DNR ownership. (Please note: there is no map for Genesee County, as there are no project boundaries within that county).

To view a map, select a county from the state map or list.

View legend

DNR Project Boundaries MapAlcona County Alger County Charlevoix County Alpena County St. Joseph County Arenac County Lake County Bay County Eaton County Isabella County Kalkaska County Van Buren County Cheboygan County Chippewa County Allegan County Clinton County Crawford County Delta County Dickinson County Ionia County Wexford County Genesee County Gladwin County Gogebic County Oceana County Gratiot County Hillsdale County Huron County Ingham County Leelanau County Iosco County Iron County Jackson County Kalamazoo County Newaygo County Kent County Keweenaw County Barry County Ottawa County Lenawee County Livingston County Luce County Mackinac County Macomb County Missaukee County Benzie County Mason County Menominee County Midland County Muskegon County Monroe County Manistee County Montmcalm County Calhoun County Branch County Oakland County Berrien County Ogemaw County Mecosta County Oscoda County Otsego County Cass County Presque Isle County Roscommon County Saginaw County St. Clair County Grand Traverse County Sanilac County Schoolcraft County Shiawassee County Tuscola County Clare County Washtenaw County Wayne County Montcalm County Ontonagon County Baraga County Houghton County Marquette County Lapeer County Osceola County Antrim County Emmet County Isle Royal (Keweenaw County)