Skip to main content

Upper Peninsula Citizens' Advisory Councils

About the councils

The two 20-member Upper Peninsula citizens’ advisory councils, east and west, are designed to provide local input to advise the DNR on regional programs and policies, identify areas in which the department can be more effective and responsive, and offer insight and guidance from members’ own experiences and constituencies. Members represent a wide spectrum of natural resource and recreation interests from hunters, boaters and off-road vehicle riders, to foresters, birdwatchers and skiers.

Stacy Welling Haughey, DNR Upper Peninsula field deputy
Phone: 906-226-1331.


Apply for Membership

Applications are accepted at any time from interested Upper Peninsula residents to sit on the councils.  Applications are reviewed if/when openings occur. The application form should be filled out in full and returned to the address on the form.


The Eastern Upper Peninsula Advisory Council draws its membership from Alger, Schoolcraft, Luce, Mackinac and Chippewa counties. The council’s western U.P. counterpart represents  Marquette, Delta, Dickinson, Menominee, Baraga, Iron, Gogebic, Ontonagon, Houghton and Keweenaw. 

Upper peninsula split into two regions.

Public comment instructions

Residents can ask to be placed on the council agenda to provide comment on an issue for an upcoming council meeting, but must do so at least five business days prior to the meeting by contacting Kristi Dahlstrom at 906-228-6561 or by email at If residents are placed on the agenda, they will have a maximum of five minutes to provide comment. Requests within five business days will be granted a maximum of three minutes.

Residents may also provide comment on the day of the council meeting by filling out a public comment card when they arrive. They will receive a maximum of three minutes to provide comment.