Skip to main content

Marquette Fisheries Research Station

Located in Marquette, this station conducts research and stock assessments on fish populations of Lake Superior and northern Lake Michigan.

Marquette Fisheries Research Station
484 Cherry Creek Road
Marquette, Michigan 49855
906-249-1611

Visit our YouTube Channel
  • Name Email Phone
    Ed Baker, Area Research Manager bakere1@michigan.gov 906-249-1611 ext. 309
    Chris Little, Assistant Boat Captain littlec9@michigan.gov 906-249-1611 ext. 331
    Jeanne Racine, Secretary  racinej1@michigan.gov 906-249-1611 ext. 300
    Kevin Rathbun, Boat Captain rathbunk@michigan.gov 906-249-1611 ext. 315
    Shawn Sitar, Research Biologist sitars@michigan.gov 906-249-1611 ext. 310
     Lydia Doerr, Fisheries Technician doerrl1@michigan.gov  906-249-1611 ext. 313
    Dan Traynor, Fisheries Technician  traynord@michigan.gov 906-249-1611 ext. 312
    Troy Zorn, Research Biologist zornt@michigan.gov 906-249-1611 ext. 308
  • The Research Vessel Lake Char was christened on May 1, 2007 in Marquette's lower harbor. She is Michigan DNR's work platform to perform fisheries research on Lake Superior. "Lake Char" is a variation on the name for lake trout, the top native predator fish in Lake Superior.

    The Lake Char replaced the RV Judy, a vessel that saw 53 years of service on the Great Lakes, the last 28 years of which were with Michigan DNR. The Lake Char allows us to continue our work with tremendous improvements in safety, flexibility, and dependability. Specifically, safety advantages of the Lake Char include having twin screws so that we can still return to shore even if one engine fails; greater speed to get to safe haven when threatening weather comes on; a compartmentalized hull to greatly reduce the danger of sinking; and an enclosed work area that provides better protection from the elements. Greater flexibility comes from the capability to do all that we do presently as well as everything we foresee the need to do in the future. The Lake Char was designed and built to be dependable and low maintenance for 50+ years.

    Lake Char general information: Length - 56 feet Beam - 16 feet Draft - 4 1/2 feet Displacement - 26 tons Speed - 19 knots Hull - Aluminum displacement Year built - 2006