The web Browser you are currently using is unsupported, and some features of this site may not work as intended. Please update to a modern browser such as Chrome, Firefox or Edge to experience all features Michigan.gov has to offer.
Agency: Licensing and Regulatory Affairs
The incorporators appoint the initial board of directors to manage the business and affairs of the corporation. A director must be at least 18 years of age* and need not be a U.S. citizen or Michigan resident or a shareholder unless the articles or by-laws so require.
One or more persons may act as the incorporator(s) of a corporation by signing the articles.
*The exception is in a nonprofit corporation where directors can be 16 or 17 years of age if the corporation is organized for purposes described in Section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code of 1986 and if the number of directors 16 or 17 years of age does not exceed 1/2 the total number directors required for a quorum.