The web Browser you are currently using is unsupported, and some features of this site may not work as intended. Please update to a modern browser such as Chrome, Firefox or Edge to experience all features Michigan.gov has to offer.
Nurse Aide Training Program
Nurse Aide Training Program Renewals Announcement
Under state statute, 333.21915, all Nurse Aide Training Programs are required to renew their permit every two years in order to operate a training program. Permits are valid for two years and expire on July 31st of an even year. All permits will expire on July 31, 2022. Each Nurse Aide Training Program must submit a renewal application (Nurse Aide Training Program Application) before that date in order to renew.
CMS-1135 WAIVED AIDE TRAINING FORM
A state-approved nurse aide training program (NATP) may count waived aide worked hours under the CMS -1135 waiver process. A NATP must use this form if the program accepts an enrolled student’s hours worked as a waived aide under the CMS-1135 waiver during the national Public Health Emergency. The acceptance of waived aide hours worked is at the sole discretion of an NATP. This allowance will be in effect until October 6, 2022.
Becoming a Nurse Aide Training Program
A Nurse Aide Training Program (NATP) must be approved and issued a permit by LARA. To become a NATP, an applicant must:
- Comply with State of Michigan Nurse Aide Training Curriculum Model (PDF).
- Complete a Nurse Aide Training Program Application.
- Pay an initial permit fee $300 or $100 if the NATP is a secondary education institution (high school or ISD) or a nursing home.
LARA is not allowed to issue refunds once an application is submitted.
NATP is regulated under the Michigan Public Health Code, Part 219, and the Code of Federal Regulations 483.151 and 483.152. An applicant that has been deemed “locked out” under 42 CFR 483.151 (b) (3) is not eligible (see Facility Nurse Aide Training Program Lock-Out Waiver Requests).
- Are valid for two years.
- Renewals processed on even years.
- Permits expire on July 31st of even years.
Proprietary School Requirement
A NATP may require licensure as a proprietary school from the Workforce Development, Department of Labor and Economic Opportunity (LEO). A propriety school is an educational institution that offers training in a particular trade or vocation, such as a certified nurse aide. Students attending a proprietary school receive a certificate instead of earning a degree.
If the applicant for an NATP permit is not a nursing home, a high school or intermediate school district (ISD), or community college, a proprietary school license is required. A NATP permit cannot be issued by LARA until a propriety school license is issued by LEO. An applicant should apply for both a LARA permit and LEO license at the same time to help expedite the process.
LARA will notify LEO that a NATP application has been submitted and when the applicant has passed its LARA pre-permit inspection. LARA cannot issue the NATP permit until a proprietary school license is issued by LEO.
Below are some LEO links and contact information to assist you.
- LEO Proprietary Schools Licensure
- LEO New Application Questionnaire
LEO Contact: Phone: 517-335-4000; Fax: 517-241-9846; PPS@michigan.gov
Nurse Aide Training Program Renewals & Closures
- Permits are valid for two years
- Renewals are processed on even years
- Permits expire on July 31st of even years.
- Each Nurse Aide Training Program must submit a renewal application Nurse Aide Training Program Application between July 1st and July 31st on even years.
- Unannounced on-site inspections will be conducted between renewals for confirmation of compliance with Federal and State law as well as administrative rule.
- Please email BCHS-CNA-Training-Program@michigan.gov for closure of a training program no longer offering services. Please include in the email the name of the training program, permit #, address and specific date the program will close.
Nurse Aide Training Program Changes
For all changes to a nurse aide training program permit complete the Nurse Aide Training Program Application and submit it to BCHS-CNA-Training-Program@michigan.gov. These changes include change of program name, curriculum changes, clinical skills contract changes, staffing changes or program coordinator changes. Any change of location or ownership requires a new program application.
Facility Nurse Aide Training Program Lock-Out Waiver Requests
Under federal law, a waiver may be granted by the state to those facilities that have a nurse aide training program and become locked-out due to being found out of substantial compliance. Please refer to 42 USC 1395i-3 (f) (2) (C) when considering requesting a waiver of the 2-year "lock-out" prohibition.
- The waiver is for a nurse aide training program offered in, not by the facility.
- The facility may choose a non-facility affiliated contractor to train the facilities nurse aide candidates.
- If the facility is affiliated with a contracted training program at the time of the lock out, a waiver must be requested for the contracted program to continue training.
A nursing home may request a waiver of the 2-year Nurse Aide Training Prohibition by submitting the following information to BCHS-Nurse-Aide-Training-Program@michigan.gov:
- Nursing home name
- Federal CCN (23-XXXX)
- Reason for the waiver request
- The time period for the request
- Indicate if the facility is currently in substantial compliance with federal certification requirements or if there is an approved Plan of Correction for outstanding deficiencies.
- Please state in the e-mail "Substantial compliance has occurred in the most recent federal survey, xx/xx/xxxx" if applicable.
- Provide a letter from the Bureau of Community and Health Systems showing substantial compliance or an approved plan of correction.
Within 90 days of receiving the above information the department may approve the permit if the following conditions exist:
- No other nurse aide training program is located within a reasonable distance (less than 5 miles) of the existing facility. Identify nearby active programs here: MAP
- The department establishes that an adequate environment exists for operating the program in the facility, by being in substantial compliance or having an approved Plan of Correction for any outstanding deficiencies.
The department will notify the facility of approval, denial or request for additional information.
Once a waiver is approved the facility must notify the State long-term care ombudsman.
Note: Any training program that is not offered by or in a facility, and only uses a facility to do their clinicals, does not need a waiver if the facility is locked-out.
Virtual Classroom Hours
Due to the currents state of emergency the bureau is approving an alternative option to in person, face to face classroom requirements for all state approved nurse aide training programs. Effective immediately online, virtual classroom sessions may be offered as an alternative to in person classroom education.
- Online classes must provide the opportunity for students to interact and engage with the instructor teaching the lesson. The nurse aide trainer must be present and available during this time.
- Online classes must be documented and classroom hours audited to ensure the minimum requirements of 43 classroom hours are met.
- Audits must be available for review by the department.
- All laboratory and clinical requirements must continue to be completed in person.
- Please submit a Nurse Aide Training Program Application, indicating a change, and detail the change to your classroom hours for approval by the bureau.
Becoming a Nurse Aide Trainer
To obtain a Nurse Aide Trainer permit to teach in a nurse aide training program in the State of Michigan, an individual must:
- Complete the Nurse Aide Trainer Application and submit it to BCHS-CNA-Training-Program@michigan.gov
- submit the required $40 fee
- Approved permits are valid for two years.
Please refer to 42 CFR 483. 152 (a) (5) (i) for Nurse Aide Trainer Requirements.
- a minimum of 2 years of nursing experience, at least 1 of which must be in the provision of long term care facility services, i.e., a participating CMS facility.
- a course in teaching adults or have experience in teaching adults or supervising nurse aides.
Note: Effective May 7, 2018, the Bureau has expanded the experience to include: “A nurse aide trainer candidate must have at least 1 year of experience in providing skilled nursing care and related services to individuals that require non-hospital residential medical, nursing or rehabilitative services. Long term care facilities may include nursing homes, hospital long term care units, county medical care facilities, homes for the aged, assisted living facilities, hospice and other like provider types."
Nurse Aide Trainer Renewals
To renew a permit the individual must:
- Hold a valid registered nurse license issued by the Bureau of Professional Licensing
- Submit a Nurse Aide Trainer Application requesting renewal
- Submit the $40 renewal fee via check made out to the State of Michigan
Regional Training Programs
Nurse Aide Competency Evaluation (Testing)
Effective April 1, 2022, the Department of Licensing & Regulatory Affairs has contracted with Headmaster, L.L.P. to provide competency evaluation testing and nurse aide registry services. The Michigan nurse aide registry and testing services are available on Headmaster's website located at: D&S - Michigan Nurse Aide (hdmaster.com)