Food Manager Certification
Finding a course, trainer, textbook or exam:
- By phone:
- Local Health Department
- Michigan State University Extension (call 888-678-3464)
Additional Allergen Training Required for Certified Food Service Managers required to be met by January 14, 2017.
Approved Allergen Courses
- National Restaurant Association On-line Allergen Training Course
- $10 fee
- AllerTrain and AllerTrain U
- $22 Fee
- TAP Series Certified Food Allergen Awareness
- $19.95 Fee
- Michigan Food Allergens Training StateFoodSafety.com
- $9 Fee
- State Approved Allergen Awareness Training -- Always Food Safe
- $10 Fee
Allergen Posters for Printing and Posting:
Certified Food Manager
Many Michigan food establishments must employ at least one certified food manager.
Manager Certification Myths and Facts helps answer many questions about the manager certification regulation.
Food Law (see section 2129 & 7106 for actual language regarding manager certification requirements)
These rules, as written, allow the Michigan Department of Agriculture & Rural Development (MDARD) to issue statewide variances. MDARD has issued statewide variances to the manager certification requirement for certain types of establishments.
Local health inspected establishments that must have a certified manager include:
- All food service establishments (e.g., restaurants, bars, schools, hospitals, mobile food establishments, and special transitory food units) except:
- vending machine locations
- temporary food service establishments
MDARD inspected establishments that must have a certified manager include:
- A food service establishment within a retail grocery.
- Extended retail food establishments. These are typically grocery stores with a deli and seating.
- Establishments that press apple cider. These establishments shall have at least 1 active employee currently certified by passing an approved food manager certification examination or having completed a current approved safe cider production course. Cider Manager Food Safety Certification and GMPs.
- Mobile food establishments
- Special transitory food units (STFUs)
Contact the inspecting agency with any questions.
Becoming Certified or Recertified
To be certified you must pass an ANSI/CFP nationally accredited exam once every 5 years. To prepare for the exam, most individuals take a class (in person or on-line) or self-study. Exams are proctored and must be taken either at an approved testing site or are given at the end of a course by an approved instructor.