Licensing Requirements

Licensing Requirements

An applicant for a security alarm system contractor license must meet the following requirements:

  • Be not less than 21 years old.

  • Have a high school diploma or its equivalent.

  • Have not been convicted of a felony.

  • In the last five years, have not had a misdemeanor conviction of any of the following:

    • Dishonesty or fraud.

    • Unauthorized divulging or selling of information or evidence.

    • Impersonation of a law enforcement officer or employee of the US, Michigan, or political subdivision of Michigan.

    • Illegally using, carrying, or possessing a dangerous weapon.

    • Two or more alcohol related offenses.

    • Controlled substances under the public health code 1978 PA 368.

    • Assault.

  • Have not been dishonorably discharged from the US military.

  • Have not been judged to be insane by a court, unless restored to sanity by a court order.

  • Does not have any outstanding warrants for his/her arrest.

  • Has a Michigan office location and a resident manager.

  • Has posted a $25,000 surety bond with the Department or furnishes an insurance policy in the amount of $25,000 for property damages, $100,000 for injury or death of one person, and $200,000 for injuries to or deaths of more than one person.

 

In addition to the above requirements, one of the following Experience Requirements must be met:

 

  • A security alarm system contractor business on his or her own account for a period of not less than 3 years.

  • A security alarm system contractor business for a period of not less than 4 years as an employee of the holder of a certificate of authority to conduct a security alarm system contractor business, and have experience reasonably equivalent to at least 4 years of full-time work in a supervisory capacity.

  • I do not have experience equivalent to at least 4 years of full-time work in a supervisory capacity. (The Department will notify you authorizing you to take the exam).