Laws and Regulations

Laws and Regulations

  • Recently passed laws require prescribers to obtain and review a patient’s prescription history in the Michigan Automated Prescription System prior to prescribing controlled substances to patients. The bills also create disciplinary action for prescribers who fail to use MAPS. Below is a summary of the new acts.

  • Public Acts


    Public Act 246 of 2017

    Requires the disclosure of prescription opioid information and risks to minors and patients, beginning 6/1/18.

    Required "Start Talking" form.

    Public Act 247 of 2017

    Requires prescribers to be in a bona fide prescriber-patient relationship prior to prescribing Schedules 2-5 controlled substances.  These provisions were due to take effect on 3/31/18, however the implementation date has been pushed back by Public Act 101 of 2018.

    Public Act 248 of 2017

    Requires the review of MAPS prior to prescribing or dispensing to a patient a controlled substance in a quantity that exceeds a 3-day supply, beginning 6/1/18.  Further, the act requires that a licensed prescriber be registered with MAPs prior to prescribing or dispensing a controlled substance to a patient, beginning 6/1/18.

    Public Act 249 of 2017

    Provides sanctions for failing to comply with the new MAPS usage mandates, failure to establish bona fide prescriber-patient relationships, and failure to inform patients regarding the risks associated with prescription opioid drugs.

    Public Act 250 of 2017

    Requires health professionals that treat patients for opioid-related overdoses to provide such patients with information regarding Substance Use Disorder Services, beginning 3/27/18.

  • Public Act 251 of 2017

    Requires prescribers treating patients for acute pain to not prescribe such patients with more than a 7-day supply of an opioid within a 7-day period, beginning 7/1/18

    Public Act 252 of 2017

    Provides that before dispensing or prescribing buprenorphine or a drug containing buprenorphine and methadone to a patient in a substance use disorder program, the prescriber shall review a MAPS report on the patient, beginning 3/27/18.

    Public Act 253 of 2017

    Codifies Medicaid coverage for detox programs, beginning 3/27/18.

    Public Act 254 of 2017

    Requires the Prescription Drug and Opioid Abuse Commission (PDOAC) to develop for Michigan’s Department of Education (MDE) recommendations for the instruction of pupils on the dangers of prescription opioid drug abuse, by 7/1/18.

    Public Act 255 of 2017

    Requires MDE to make available to school districts a model program of instruction on the dangers of prescription opioid abuse, developed or adopted by the PDOAC, by 7/1/19.  Further, beginning in the 2019-2020 school year, MDE shall ensure that the state include within its health education standards, instruction on prescription opioid drug abuse.

    Public Act 101 of 2018

    Pushes back the effective date for the bona fide prescriber-patient relationship requirement to 3/31/19, or if rules are promulgated to provide alternatives to the prescriber-patient requirement before 3/31/19, on the date on which rules are promulgated.

MAPS Resources

Contact MAPS

MAPS Integration

  • MAPS Partners

    The State of Michigan is covering the full cost of integration of MAPS into the clinical workflow of health systems, physician groups and pharmacies until August 31, 2023. Learn how to start the integration process.

MAPS Legislation

  • MAP Legislation Info

    If your question(s) pertain to the new opioid legislation, we encourage you to review the recently-released FAQs. Additional questions or concerns can be addressed by contacting MAPS.

  • MAPS Partners


    Find Help, Hope & Resources for Opioids

    MSP Angel Program

    Find Opioid Addiction Resources

  • Facebook Icon
    Twitter Icon
    YouTube Icon
    Instagram Icon