• In order to purchase a hunting license in Michigan, an individual born on or after January 1, 1960, is required to successfully complete an approved hunter education course.

    There are two options for completing hunter education in Michigan – the traditional course or the online course. Both options require attendance at a field day.

    Out-of-state residents can purchase a Michigan hunting license as long as they have a valid hunter education safety certificate from another state. 

     

  • Temporary Safety Certificate Until June 1, 2021

    During the COVID-19 pandemic the DNR is offering a temporary safety certificate for eligible students. 

  • Hunter education – traditional course

    The main purpose of the hunter education course is to train safe, legal and responsible hunters. Topics include understanding wildlife management, wildlife identification, ethics, laws and regulations, and firearms safety and handling. 

    The required field day is part of this course.

    Michigan’s traditional hunter education course is taught by a dedicated core of certified volunteer instructors and Michigan conservation officers.

    About the class:

    • In person, traditional classroom setting including hands on training
    • Minimum of 10 hours over a minimum of two days
    • Written test (80% or better to pass) and practice assessment (pass/fail)
    • Maximum $10 fee
    • No minimum age requirement; however, students under age 10 shall be accompanied by a parent, legal guardian or other adult approved by parent or legal guardian.

     

  • Hunter education – online

    • Take the approved hunter safety course online at hunter-ed.com/Michigan.
    • After completing the online course, students have 12 months to complete the field day to complete hunter education.
  • Hunter education – field day

    The hunter education field day course is an alternative to the traditional course. This is the same as the traditional hunter education course; however, the classroom portion is completed by either:

    1. Online training
    2. Take home study format

    After students complete the course (either online or take home study format), they must attend and complete the field day to earn a hunter safety certificate.

    Students choosing the online course followed by the field day must present a copy of their certificate of completion (voucher) of the online course at the start of the field day.  The online course is fee based and can be taken at hunter-ed.com/michigan/.

    The second format is take home study. Students register for the field day and pick up the student manual, a minimum of one week prior to the field day. Take home study students must complete the chapter review questions and present them at the start of the field day.

    Michigan’s hunter education course is taught by a dedicated core of certified volunteer instructors and Michigan conservation officers.

    About the field day:

    • In person field day
    • 4 hours minimum
    • Written test (80% or better to pass) and practice assessment (pass/fail)
    • Maximum $10 fee
    • No minimum age requirement; however, students under age 10 shall be accompanied by a parent, legal guardian or other adult approved by parent or legal guardian.
  •