Field Dog Trials

Private Lands Field Dog Trial Application and Permit PDF icon
This application and permit is required prior to conducting a field dog trial during the closed season on private land in Michigan. The closed season is April 17th - July 8th.

Field Dog Trial Application and Permit for Designated State-Owned Trial Areas PDF icon
This field trial application must be submitted before a permit will be issued for use of any field trial area in the following locations: Ionia Recreation Area, Highland Recreation Area, Holly Recreation Area, Sharonville Game Area, Lapeer Game Area, and Gladwin Field Trial Area.

Frequently Asked Questions On Dog Training PDF icon

A field dog trial is a trial or meet advertised as such and open to entry by persons whose dogs qualify, in which no less than four participants, with dogs, are permitted to dog train in competition or contest. Dogs must be awarded points, trophies, or other actual honors for their performance and demonstration of hunting skills.

Live birds legally possessed may be released and taken in the process of the trial when permitted. Firearms with live ammunition may be possessed during the trial, when the field dog trial permit allows the shooting of live birds. Individuals in possession of a firearm with live ammunition must have a base license for the current year.

For more information on field dog trials on State Designated Field Trial Areas, contact Barb Berta, Secretary, Michigan Field Dog Trial Association, 248-770-0164.

For more information on field dog trails on private land contact Wildlife Division Permit Specialist at reitzc@michigan.gov or 517-284-6210.

Field Trial Note: Training while shooting requires a field trial permit during the closed season. Training and shooting during the open season does not require a field trial permit.  Field trial permits are not usually issued for Lapeer or Sharonville without first getting land manager approval. 

Field Dog Trial Calendar

Start Date Organization Event Silo Barn Moore Lake Sod Farm
Saturday, January 25, 2020 Work Day 9 am N/A Yes No No No
Saturday, February 15, 2020 Work Day 9 am N/A Yes No No No
Saturday, February 29, 2020 SEMI NAVHDA Training No Yes Yes No
Sunday, March 1, 2020 Southern Michigan Springer Spaniel Training Club Training No Yes No No
Saturday, March 7, 2020 SEMI NAVHDA Training No Yes Yes No
Sunday, March 8, 2020 German Shorthaired Pointer Club of Michigan Training Yes No No No
Sunday, March 8, 2020 Southern Michigan Springer Spaniel Training Club Training No Yes No No
Saturday, March 14, 2020 Highland Field Trial Club Licensed Yes No No No
Sunday, March 15, 2020 Highland Field Trial Club Licensed Yes No No No
Saturday, March 14, 2020 Work Day 9 am N/A No Yes No No
Sunday, March 15, 2020 Southern Michigan Springer Spaniel Training Club Training No Yes No No
Saturday, March 21, 2020 Southern Michigan Weimaraner Club AKC Hunt Test Yes No No No
Sunday, March 22, 2020 Southern Michigan Weimaraner Club AKC Hunt Test Yes No No No
Saturday, March 21, 2020 SEMI NAVHDA Training No Yes Yes No
Sunday, March 22, 2020 SEMI NAVHDA Training No Yes Yes No
Saturday, March 28, 2020 Irish Setter Club of Michigan AKC Hunt Test No Yes No No
Saturday, March 28, 2020 NODROG Gordon Setter Club of Michigan AKC Hunt Test Yes No No No
Sunday, March 29, 2020 NODROG Gordon Setter Club of Michigan AKC Hunt Test Yes No No No
Sunday, March 29, 2020 SEMI NAVHDA Training No Yes Yes No
Saturday, April 4, 2020 Fort Detroit GWP Club Licensed Yes No No No
Sunday, April 5, 2020 Fort Detroit GWP Club Licensed Yes No No No
Saturday, April 4, 2020 SEMI NAVHDA Training No Yes Yes No
Sunday, April 5, 2020 SEMI NAVHDA Training No Yes Yes No
Friday, April 10, 2020 Southern Michigan Weimaraner Club Licensed Yes No Yes No
Saturday, April 11, 2020 Southern Michigan Weimaraner Club Licensed Yes No Yes No
Sunday, April 12, 2020 Southern Michigan Weimaraner Club Licensed Yes No Yes No
Saturday, April 11, 2020 SEMI NAVHDA Training No Yes No No
Sunday, April 12, 2020 SEMI NAVHDA Training No Yes No No
Saturday, April 18, 2020 Fort Detroit GWP Club AKC Hunt Test Yes No No No
Saturday, April 18, 2020 Michigamme English Setter Club Hunt Test No Yes No No
Tuesday, April 14, 2020 SEMI NAVHDA Training Yes No No No
Sunday, April 19, 2020 SEMI NAVHDA Training No Yes Yes No
Sunday, April 19, 2020 German Shorthaired Pointer Club of Michigan AKC Hunt Test Yes No No No
Saturday, April 25, 2020 Grand Valley BDC Licensed Yes No No No
Sunday, April 26, 2020 Grand Valley BDC Licensed Yes No No No
Saturday, April 25, 2020 SEMI NAVHDA Training No Yes Yes No
Sunday, April 26, 2020 SEMI NAVHDA Training No Yes Yes No
Saturday, May 2, 2020 Irish Setter Club of Michigan Licensed Yes No No No
Sunday, May 3, 2020 Irish Setter Club of Michigan Licensed Yes No No No
Saturday, May 2, 2020 SEMI NAVHDA Training No Yes Yes No
Sunday, May 3, 2020 SEMI NAVHDA Training No Yes Yes No
Friday, May 8, 2020 Wolverine Field Trial Club Championship Yes No No No
Saturday, May 9, 2020 Wolverine Field Trial Club Championship Yes No No No
Sunday, May 10, 2020 Wolverine Field Trial Club Championship Yes No No No
Tuesday, May 5, 2020 SEMI NAVHDA Training Yes No No No
Saturday, May 9, 2020 SEMI NAVHDA Training No Yes Yes No
Sunday, May 10, 2020 SEMI NAVHDA Training No Yes Yes No
Tuesday, May 12, 2020 SEMI NAVHDA Training Yes Yes Yes No
Saturday, May 16, 2020 Southern Michigan Weimaraner Club Licensed Yes No No No
Sunday, May 17, 2020 German Shorthaired Pointer Club of Michigan Walking F.T. Yes No No No
Saturday, May 16, 2020 Southern Michigan Springer Spaniel Training Club AKC Hunt Test No Yes Yes ?
Sunday, May 17, 2020 Southern Michigan Springer Spaniel Training Club AKC Hunt Test No Yes Yes ?
Wednesday, May 20, 2020 SEMI NAVHDA Training Yes Yes Yes No
Saturday, May 23, 2020 Fort Detroit GWP Club Licensed Yes No PM No
Saturday, May 23, 2020 SEMI NAVHDA Training No Yes AM No
Sunday, May 24, 2020 Vizsla Club of Michigan Licensed Yes No No No
Monday, May 25, 2020 Vizsla Club of Michigan AKC Hunt Test Yes No No No
Sunday, May 24, 2020 Michigan Versatile Hunting Dog Federation Training No Yes Yes No
Monday, May 25, 2020 Michigan Versatile Hunting Dog Federation Training No Yes Yes No
Tuesday, May 26, 2020 SEMI NAVHDA Training Yes Yes Yes No
Wednesday, May 27, 2020 SEMI NAVHDA Training Yes Yes Yes No
Thursday, May 28, 2020 SEMI NAVHDA Training Yes Yes Yes No
Friday, May 29, 2020 SEMI NAVHDA Test Yes Yes Yes No
Saturday, May 30, 2020 SEMI NAVHDA Test Yes Yes Yes No
Sunday, May 31, 2020 SEMI NAVHDA Test Yes Yes Yes No
Saturday, June 6, 2020 SEMI NAVHDA Training No Yes Yes No
Sunday, June 7, 2020 SEMI NAVHDA Training No Yes PM No
Sunday, June 7, 2020 Michigan Versatile Hunting Dog Federation Training Yes No AM No
Saturday, June 13, 2020 Southern Michigan Weimaraner Club Training Yes No No No
Sunday, June 14, 2020 Michigan Versatile Hunting Dog Federation Training Yes No PM No
Saturday, June 13, 2020 SEMI NAVHDA Training No Yes Yes No
Sunday, June 14, 2020 SEMI NAVHDA Training No Yes AM No
Tuesday, June 16, 2020 SEMI NAVHDA Training Yes Yes Yes No
Saturday, June 20, 2020 SEMI NAVHDA Training No Yes Yes No
Sunday, June 21, 2020 SEMI NAVHDA Training No Yes Yes No
Saturday, June 27, 2020 Michigan Versatile Hunting Dog Federation Training Yes No AM No
Saturday, June 27, 2020 SEMI NAVHDA Training No Yes PM No
Sunday, June 28, 2020 SEMI NAVHDA Training No Yes Yes No
Sunday, June 28, 2020 Southern Michigan Springer Spaniel Training Club Training Yes No No No
Saturday, July 4, 2020 SEMI NAVHDA Training No Yes AM No
Sunday, July 5, 2020 SEMI NAVHDA Training No Yes PM No
Saturday, July 4, 2020 Michigan Versatile Hunting Dog Federation Training Yes No PM No
Sunday, July 5, 2020 Michigan Versatile Hunting Dog Federation Training Yes No AM No
Sunday, July 12, 2020 Michigan Versatile Hunting Dog Federation Training Yes No PM No
Saturday, July 11, 2020 SEMI NAVHDA Training No Yes Yes No
Sunday, July 12, 2020 SEMI NAVHDA Training No Yes AM No
Wednesday, July 15, 2020 SEMI NAVHDA Training Yes Yes Yes No
Saturday, July 18, 2020 SEMI NAVHDA Training No Yes AM No
Sunday, July 19, 2020 SEMI NAVHDA Training No Yes Yes No
Saturday, July 18, 2020 Michigan Versatile Hunting Dog Federation Training Yes No PM No
Sunday, July 19, 2020 Southern Michigan Springer Spaniel Training Club Training Yes No No No
Saturday, July 25, 2020 Michigan Versatile Hunting Dog Federation Training Yes No AM No
Saturday, July 25, 2020 SEMI NAVHDA Training No Yes PM No
Sunday, July 26, 2020 SEMI NAVHDA Training No Yes Yes No
Sunday, July 26, 2020 German Shorthaired Pointer Club of Michigan Water Test Yes No Spillway No
Thursday, July 30, 2020 SEMI NAVHDA Training Yes Yes Yes No
Friday, July 31, 2020 Michigan Versatile Hunting Dog Federation VHDF Test Yes Yes Yes ?
Saturday, August 1, 2020 Michigan Versatile Hunting Dog Federation VHDF Test Yes Yes Yes ?
Sunday, August 2, 2020 Michigan Versatile Hunting Dog Federation VHDF Test Yes Yes Yes ?
Tuesday, August 4, 2020 SEMI NAVHDA Training Yes Yes Yes No
Saturday, August 8, 2020 SEMI NAVHDA Training No Yes Yes No
Sunday, August 9, 2020 SEMI NAVHDA Training No Yes Yes No
Saturday, August 8, 2020 Michigamme English Setter Club Fun Yes No No No
Wednesday, August 12, 2020 SEMI NAVHDA Training Yes Yes Yes No
Saturday, August 15, 2020 SEMI NAVHDA Training No Yes Yes No
Sunday, August 16, 2020 SEMI NAVHDA Training No Yes Yes No
Saturday, August 15, 2020 Work Day 9 am N/A Yes No No No
Monday, August 17, 2020 SEMI NAVHDA Training Yes Yes Yes No
Tuesday, August 18, 2020 SEMI NAVHDA Training Yes Yes Yes No
Wednesday, August 19, 2020 SEMI NAVHDA Training Yes Yes Yes No
Thursday, August 20, 2020 SEMI NAVHDA Training Yes Yes Yes No
Friday, August 21, 2020 SEMI NAVHDA Test Yes Yes Yes No
Saturday, August 22, 2020 SEMI NAVHDA Test Yes Yes Yes No
Sunday, August 23, 2020 SEMI NAVHDA Test Yes Yes Yes No
Saturday, August 29, 2020 SEMI NAVHDA Training No Yes Yes No
Sunday, August 30, 2020 SEMI NAVHDA Training No Yes Yes No
Saturday, September 5, 2020 Fort Detroit GWP Club AKC Hunt Test Yes No No No
Sunday, September 6, 2020 Fort Detroit GWP Club AKC Hunt Test Yes No No No
Saturday, September 5, 2020 SEMI NAVHDA Training No Yes Yes No
Sunday, September 6, 2020 SEMI NAVHDA Training No Yes Yes No
Monday, September 7, 2020 SEMI NAVHDA Training No Yes Yes No
Saturday, September 12, 2020 SEMI NAVHDA Training No Yes Yes No
Sunday, September 13, 2020 SEMI NAVHDA Training No Yes Yes No
Saturday, September 12, 2020 Highland Field Trial Club Licensed Yes No No No
Sunday, September 13, 2020 Highland Field Trial Club Licensed Yes No No No
Saturday, September 19, 2020 Grand Valley BDC Licensed Yes No No No
Sunday, September 20, 2020 Grand Valley BDC Licensed Yes No No No
Saturday, September 26, 2020 German Shorthaired Pointer Club of Michigan AKC Hunt Test Yes No No No
Sunday, September 27, 2020 German Shorthaired Pointer Club of Michigan AKC Hunt Test Yes No No No
Saturday, October 3, 2020 Irish Setter Club of Michigan Licensed Yes No No No
Sunday, October 4, 2020 Irish Setter Club of Michigan Licensed Yes No No No
Friday, October 9, 2020 NODROG Gordon Setter Club of Michigan Field Trial Yes No No No
Saturday, October 10, 2020 NODROG Gordon Setter Club of Michigan Field Trial Yes No No No
Sunday, October 11, 2020 NODROG Gordon Setter Club of Michigan Field Trial Yes No No No
Saturday, October 17, 2020 NODROG Gordon Setter Club of Michigan Training No Yes No No
Sunday, October 18, 2020 NODROG Gordon Setter Club of Michigan Training No Yes No No
Saturday, October 31, 2020 Michigamme English Setter Club Licensed Yes No No No
Sunday, November 1, 2020 Michigamme English Setter Club Licensed Yes No No No
Saturday, October 31, 2020 Work Day 9 am N/A No Yes No No
Saturday, November 21, 2020 Work Day 9 am N/A Yes No No No
Saturday, December 5, 2020 Highland Field Trial Club Classic Yes No No No
Sunday, December 8, 2019 Highland Field Trial Club Classic Yes No No No


Related Documents
Designated Field Trial Area Rules PDF icon