The web Browser you are currently using is unsupported, and some features of this site may not work as intended. Please update to a modern browser such as Chrome, Firefox or Edge to experience all features Michigan.gov has to offer.
Adrian's Midway Market has Liquor License Suspended for 17 Days
LARA Communications 517-335-LARA (5272)
March 5, 2019 - At the Michigan Liquor Control Commission (MLCC) hearing last Thursday in Southfield, commissioners ordered the suspension of the liquor license and permits held by Teclark, Inc. – doing business as Midway Market – located at 2401 Occidental Highway, Adrian, Michigan.
Under state law, the Commission is required to impose a suspension or revocation of the liquor license if a licensee is found liable for three or more violations of MCL 436.1801(2) – sales of alcohol to minors and sales of alcohol to visibly intoxicated persons – within a 24-month period.
Midway Market had three violations in 14 months:
- On May 5, 2017, a 20-year old was sold a 25-ounce can of Natty Daddy. The store clerk did not ask for identification, was not shown proper proof of age, and did not make a diligent inquiry to determine the proper true age of the purchaser.
- On July 31, 2017, a 19-year old was sold a 6-pack of Bud Light. The minor showed the clerk proper proof of age, which included the words “Under 21” on it, and the transaction was still completed, indicating either a careless disregard of the law or deliberate actions of the clerk.
- On June 29, 2018, a 19-year old was sold a 6-pack of Bud Light. The store clerk did not ask for identification, was not shown proper proof of age, and did not make a diligent inquiry to determine the proper true age of the purchaser.
At the MLCC penalty hearing last week – after reviewing the record and file, and hearing arguments from the license holder – the Commission ordered a 17-day suspension of the liquor license and permits, beginning Friday, March 8, 2019 through Sunday, March 24, 2019.
“It is important that our licensees take steps to ensure they do not sell to minors,” said MLCC Chairman Andy Deloney. “This licensee broke the law three times in fourteen months by selling to minors. In situations like this, we are required to suspend or revoke a license. After reviewing the file and considering the entirety of the record during the hearing, the Commission determined that suspending the license was appropriate to protect the health, safety, and welfare of the public.”