Michigan Community Service Commission honors 2018 Governor's Service Awards winners

2018 GSA winners

The Michigan Community Service Commission honored 40 winners at the 2018 Governor's Service Awards during a special ceremony on June 5, at the Wharton Center in East Lansing. The winners are individuals, businesses and nonprofit organizations that were selected for their commitment to volunteerism, service or philanthropy.

“This year’s winners have inspiring stories. They have made a tremendous impact on the lives of others through their service,” Gov. Rick Snyder said. “I am extremely grateful for the contributions they have made for Michigan and am honored to recognize their incredible accomplishments.”

Michigan State head basketball coach Tom Izzo served as the keynote speaker, while State Rep. Julie Calley and Michigan Community Service Commission Commissioner Kelsey Snyder handed out awards during the event.

See photos of the 2018 Governor's Service Awards.

The winners include: (Click the winner’s name to view their full biography)

Gov. George Romney Lifetime Achievement Award: Lowell Spieth (Hillsdale)

Lifetime Humanitarian Award: John and Cleo Leppien (Alma), Marsha J. Smith (Traverse City)

Volunteer of the Year: Timothy Danielson (Ludington), Kenyetta Dotson (Flint), Connor Miller (Traverse City), Wendy Jo Morrison (Brighton)

Senior Volunteer of the Year: Sarah “Sally” Fallon (Hillsdale), Lyle Gunderson (Ludington), Virginia Ellen Abbott Maxwell (Benton Harbor), Doris McCutcheon (Auburn Hills), Mary C. Payne (Muskegon), Jan Thomas (Copemish), Sandra Bowden-Whelton (Williamston)

Youth Volunteer of the Year: Allison Heath (Bloomfield Hills), Desiree Herrst (Bellaire), Ahmad Hider (Dearborn), Chintan Maheshwari (Farmington Hills), Katie Sesi (Ann Arbor), Katharine Shao (Northville), Christopher Wendt (Newberry)

Mentor of the Year: Lee Ellen Kerr (Auburn Hills), John Noling (Muskegon), Khali Sweeney (Detroit), Charles Thomas Jr. (Sterling Heights)

Outstanding Volunteer Program: Lake Superior Volunteer Corps (Marquette), Life Remodeled (Detroit), Team Rubicon Michigan (Statewide)

Outstanding National Service Program: AdviseMI at Michigan College Access Network (Lansing), RSVP at Valley Area Agency Aging (Flint), Rural Opportunity VISTA program at Community Economic Development Association of Michigan (Lansing)

Corporate Community Leader: Dort Federal Credit Union (Grand Blanc), Lansing Board of Water & Light (Lansing), Sachse Construction (Detroit), teamGM Cares (Detroit)

Education Service Leader: Jackson College  (Jackson), Michigan State University (East Lansing), University of Michigan-Flint (Flint)

In partnership with the Michigan Community Service Commission, the Council of Michigan Foundations and the Michigan Nonprofit Association will give two Community Foundation Philanthropy Awards.

Community Foundation Philanthropy Award: Charles “Charley” Janssen (Lansing), Carlene Walz Lefere (Jackson)