Michigan Nature Centers

nature center icon

Below is a list of nature centers in Michigan. This is not a comprehensive list and the DNR does not endorse any of those on this list. If you know of a location that should be added, please email Tracy Page.

To see the locations of Michigan's nature centers on a map, as well as forests, conservancies, parks, and more, check out the Michigan Greenspaces map.

Michigan Nature Centers

Location Website City
Bay City Recreation Area Michigan.gov/SaginawBayVC Bay City
Belle Isle Nature Center BelleIslePark.org Detroit
Blandford Nature Center blandfordnaturecenter.org Grand Rapids
Boardman River Nature Center natureiscalling.org/nature-center Traverse City
Burgess-Shadbush Nature Center www.shelbytwp.org/naturecenter Shelby Township
Calvin College Ecosystem Preserve calvin.edu/ecosystem-preserve Grand Rapids
Carl T. Johnson Hunting and Fishing Center Michigan.gov/HuntFishCenter Cadillac
Chippewa Nature Center www.chippewanaturecenter.org Midland
Crosswinds Marsh www.waynecounty.com/departments/publicservices/parks/crosswinds-marsh.aspx Detroit
Dahlem Environmental Education Center www.dahlemcenter.org Jackson
Degraaf Nature Center Outdoordiscovery.org/Degraaf/ Holland
Detroit River International Wildlife Refuge www.fws.gov/refuge/Detroit_River Grosse Ile
DeVries Nature Conservancy www.devriesnature.org Owosso
Dinosaur Hill Nature Preserve www.dinosaurhill.org Rochester
Drayton Plains Nature Center waterfordmi.gov/Facilities/Facility/Details/Drayton-Plains-Nature-Center-1 Waterford
Eddy Discovery Center Michigan.gov/EddyCenter Chelsea
Farmington Hills Nature Center fhgov.com/Activities/Parks-Facilities/Nature-Center.aspx Farmington Hills
Fenner Nature Center mynaturecenter.org Lansing
Fernwood Botanical Garden and Nature Preserve fernwoodbotanical.org Niles
Flynn Township Nature Center flynntownship.org/Nature_Center.html Flynn Township
For-Mar Nature Preserve and Arboretum geneseecountyparks.org Burton
Forest Hill Nature Area www.giresd.net/domain/18 Ithaca
Grass River Natural Area www.grassriver.org Bellaire
Harris Nature Center meridian.mi.us/HNC Okemos
Hartley Outdoor Education Center saginawisdmi.apptegy.us/o/saginaw-isd/page/hartley-outdoor-education-center--2 St. Charles
Hartwick Pines Visitor Center Michigan.gov/HartwickPinesVC Grayling
Hawk Woods Nature Center auburnhills.org/departments/parks_and_recreation/parks_and_facilities/hawk_woods_nature_center.php Auburn Hills
Headwaters Conservancy headwatersconservancy.org Gaylord
Nature Education Center at Hemlock Crossing www.miottawa.org/Parks/nature_center.htm West Olive
Hoffmaster State Park - Gillette Sand Dune Visitor Center Michigan.gov/GilletteVC Muskegon
Howard Christensen Nature Center www.howardchristensen.org Kent City
Howell Nature Center www.howellnaturecenter.org Howell
Hudson Mills Metropark www.metroparks.com/parks/hudson-mills-metropark Ann Arbor
Huron County Nature Center www.huronnaturecenter.org Port Austin
Huron-Clinton Metroparks www.metroparks.com Milford
Indian Springs Metropark www.metroparks.com/parks/indian-springs-metropark White Lake
Inland Seas Education Association schoolship.org/about-isea/staff Suttons Bay
E. L. Johnson Nature Center www.bloomfield.org/schools/el-johnson-nature-center Bloomfield Hills
Kalamazoo Nature Center naturecenter.org Kalamazoo
Kensington Park Nature Center www.metroparks.com/facilities-education/kensington-nature-center Milford
Lake St. Clair Metropark www.metroparks.com/lake-st-clair Harrison Township
Leslie Science & Nature Center www.lesliesnc.org Ann Arbor
Lincoln Brick Park and Nature Center mi-eatoncounty.civicplus.com/Facilities/Facility/Details/Lincoln-Brick-Park-14 Grand Ledge
Love Creek Nature Center www.berriencounty.org/1299/Love-Creek-County-Park Berrien
Ludington State Park Visitor Center Michigan.gov/LudingtonEducation Ludington
Mackinac State Historic Parks www.mackinacparks.com Mackinaw City
Marshlands Museum and Nature Center www.metroparks.com/facilities-education/lake-erie-marshlands-museum-nature-center Brownstown
MooseWood Nature Center moosewood.org Marquette
Michigan Association of Conservation Districts Macd.org/ Statewide
Michigan Audubon Society www.michiganaudubon.org Statewide
Michigan Nature Association michigannature.org Statewide
Michigan United Conservation Clubs mucc.org Lansing
Nankin Mills Nature Center www.nankinmills.org Westland
Nature Discovery naturediscovery.net/index.html Williamston
Nichols Arboretum mbgna.umich.edu/matthaei-botanical-gardens Ann Arbor
Oakwoods Park Nature Center www.metroparks.com/facilities-education/oakwoods-metropark-nature-center Belleville
Oden State Fish Hatchery Visitor Center Michigan.gov/OdenVC Alanson
Osceola-Lake Conservation District www.mecostacd.org Reed City
Ottawa County Parks www.miottawa.org/Parks/hemlockcrossing.htm Midland
Outdoor Adventure Center Michigan.gov/OAC Detroit
Outdoor Discovery Center Macatawa Greenway outdoordiscovery.org Holland
Pictured Rocks National Lakeshore www.nps.gov/piro/index.htm Munising
Pierce Cedar Creek Institute www.cedarcreekinstitute.org/index.html Hastings
Pine River Nature Center www.sccresa.org/p_r_o_g_r_a_m_s/pine_river_nature_center Goodells
Porcupine Mountains Wilderness Visitor Center Michigan.gov/PorkiesVC White Pine
Raven Hill Discovery Center miravenhill.org East Jordan
Red Oaks Nature Center www.oakgov.com/parks/parksandtrails/Red-Oaks/Pages/Red-Oaks-Nature-Center.aspx Madison Heights
Sarett Nature Center sarett.org Benton Harbor
Seney National Wildlife Refuge www.fws.gov/refuge/Seney Seney
Seven Ponds Nature Center sevenponds.org Dryden
Shiawassee National Wildlife Refuge www.fws.gov/refuge/Shiawassee Saginaw
Sleeping Bear National Lakeshore www.nps.gov/slbe Lake Michigan
Stage Nature Center troynaturesociety.org Troy
Sterling Heights Nature Center www.sterling-heights.net/302/Nature-Center Sterling Heights
Stony Creek Metropark Nature Center www.metroparks.com/parks/stony-creek-metropark Shelby
Stubnitz Environmental Education Center www.lisd.us/instruction/programs/stem/stubnitz-environmental-education-programs Adrian
Tahquamenon Falls Education Programs Michigan.gov/TFallsEducation Paradise
Thorne Swift Nature Preserve landtrust.org/thorne-swift-nature-preserve Harbor Springs
Thurston Nature Center thurstonnaturecenter.info Ann Arbor
Tuscola Conservation District www.tuscolacd.com Vassar
University of Michigan-Dearborn Environmental Interpretive Center umdearborn.edu/casl/centers-institutes/environmental-interpretive-center Dearborn
West Bloomfield Nature Room and Outdoor Play Area www.wbparks.org/nature-room-and-outdoor-natural-play-area.html West Bloomfield
Whitefish Point Bird Observatory wpbo.org Paradise
Whitehouse Nature Center www.albion.edu/about-albion/whitehouse-nature-center Albion
Wint Nature Center www.oakgov.com/parks/parksandtrails/Independence-Oaks/Pages/Wint-Nature-Center.aspx Clarkston
Wittenbach/Wege Environmental Center www.lowellschools.com/our-district/wittenbach-center Lowell
Woldumar Nature Center www.woldumar.org Lansing
Wolf Lake State Fish Hatchery Visitor Center Michigan.gov/WolfLakeVC Mattawan