The web Browser you are currently using is unsupported, and some features of this site may not work as intended. Please update to a modern browser such as Chrome, Firefox or Edge to experience all features Michigan.gov has to offer.
Michiganders Should Use Caution When Handling Fireworks This Independence Day
Media Contact: LARA Communications (517-335-LARA (5272))
July 1, 2021 - Michiganders who plan on setting off a few fireworks this Independence Day should be aware of the risks and know the dangers involved. Take every safety precaution to prevent a tragedy this Holiday.
"We anticipate that many people will purchase consumer fireworks and provide their own fireworks show over the Fourth of July holiday weekend," said Fire Marshal Kevin Sehlmeyer. "BFS is asking consumers to understand basic fireworks safety before using consumer fireworks."
When handling and launching fireworks, please consider the following safety tips:
- Follow the manufacturer's directions.
- Have an adult supervise fireworks activities, including sparklers.
- Light fireworks one at a time, then immediately back away to a safe distance.
- Ensure people and pets are out of range before lighting fireworks.
- Light fireworks outdoors on a driveway or other paved surface at least 25 feet away from houses and flammable materials such as dry grass or mulch.
- Keep a bucket of water or a garden hose handy in case of fire or other mishaps.
- Douse spent fireworks in a bucket of water before discarding them in a trash can.
When purchasing fireworks or handling fireworks, it's important to remember to not do the following:
- Experiment with or make your own fireworks.
- Buy fireworks packaged in brown paper or use unlabeled fireworks - they are for professional use only.
- Allow young children to play with or ignite fireworks.
- Place any part of your body directly over a fireworks device when lighting the fuse.
- Try to re-light "duds" or pick up fireworks that have not ignited fully. (Rather, wait 15 to 20 minutes and then soak it in a bucket of water.)
- Point or throw fireworks at other people.
- Carry fireworks in a pocket or shoot them off in metal or glass containers.
Consumers should also be aware that in Michigan:
- State law requires that consumer-grade fireworks only be ignited from personal property. It is illegal to ignite fireworks on public property (including streets and sidewalks), school property, church property, or another person's property without their express permission.
- It is also illegal to discharge fireworks when intoxicated or under the influence of drugs.
- Consumers must be 18 years of age or older to purchase fireworks.
For a list of legal consumer fireworks, legal low impact fireworks, and novelties go to: https://www.michigan.gov/documents/lara/fireworks_381040_7.pdf