The web Browser you are currently using is unsupported, and some features of this site may not work as intended. Please update to a modern browser such as Chrome, Firefox or Edge to experience all features Michigan.gov has to offer.
Dairy Receiving Station
- Expiration: Varies
- Fee: $250 annually
- Email: MDA-DairyInfo@Michigan.gov or Phone: 800-292-3939
- Application: Dairy Receiving Station License Application (PDF) or apply online
Frequently Asked Questions
Who needs a license?
A receiving station is a facility that receives milk for transfer to a dairy plant. This is not a first receiving point for processing. However, this license is only for a stand-alone facility. If your facility is part of a Grade A Milk or Manufacturing Dairy plant, it will be inspected and licensed as part of that plant.
What fees are required? How long is the license good for?
The receiving station license is $250. This license is renewed annually and is not pro-rated.
How do I apply for a license?
Are there any special requirements to obtain a license?
Yes. An inspection is required. In addition, drug residue screening facilities may be required.
Who do I contact for an inspection?
An individual who is interested in operating a receiving station must contact the Lansing office at 800-292-3939.
Steps to becoming a Licensed Grade "A" Receiving Station as per the Grade "A" Milk Law of 2001
A receiving station is a facility that receives milk and has storage vessels for the milk. If the facility is part of a Grade "A" Milk plant, it will be licensed as part of that facility and will not be charged an extra fee.
Steps to becoming a Licensed Receiving Station:
- For a stand-alone Grade "A" facility, fill out application form ($250 annually)
- Contact the Lansing Office at 800-292-3939 to arrange inspection of a previously un-inspected facility
- Requests for additional information can be made by email to MDA-DairyInfo@michigan.gov