Skip to main content

EV charging stations

Approximately 15 electric vehicle charging sites are planned for state parks and a state fish hatchery over the next few years. As part of a partnership with Adopt a Charger and electric vehicle automaker Rivian, these EV charging stations will help encourage sustainable travel across our state and help reduce local air pollution. The EV charging stations are part of the Lake Michigan circuit of EV charging infrastructure, and are free to use.

EV charging stations are currently installed at:

  • Holland State Park (Ottawa County)

Tentative 2023 installations:

  • Burt Lake State Park
  • East Tawas State Harbor
  • Harrisville State Park
  • Hartwick Pines State Park
  • Holly Recreation Area
  • Interlochen State Park
  • Leelanau State Park
  • Ludington State Park
  • Mears State Park
  • North Higgins Lake State Park
  • Oden State Fish Hatchery
  • Orchard Beach State Park
  • Otsego Lake State Park
  • Ralph MacMullan Conference Center
  • Seven Lakes State Park
  • South Higgins Lake State Park
  • Tawas Point State Park

Installations anticipated in subsequent years:

  • Palms Book State Park (Schoolcraft County)
  • Fayette Historic State Park (Delta County)

* The rollout is being done in phases. State parks in the Upper Peninsula are scheduled to be part of the second phase, targeted to take place next year.

Rivian, an electric vehicle maker and automotive technology company, will provide an open-network, Level 2 Rivian Waypoints chargers at no cost to the state or taxpayers. Adopt a Charger, a nonprofit organization, will provide technical, marketing and sponsorship support for the operation of the chargers. ITC, an electric transmission company, will provide the funding for the electrical use. Consumers Energy, through the Power MI Drive program, is providing the funds to pay for upgrades to the electrical systems at state parks necessary for charger installation.