The web Browser you are currently using is unsupported, and some features of this site may not work as intended. Please update to a modern browser such as Chrome, Firefox or Edge to experience all features Michigan.gov has to offer.
Brighton-based Silver Service Michigan Transportation LLC ordered to cease and desist from violating law
January 31, 2023
January 31, 2023 - The Dept. of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs (LARA), Corporations, Securities & Commercial Licensing Bureau (CSCL) issued a Notice and Order to Cease and Desist against Respondent Silver Service Michigan Transportation LLC in Brighton, effective January 31, 2023, for failing to comply with the Limousine, Taxicab, and Transportation Network Act. Respondent, a limousine carrier, failed to provide documentation of the following items during a state audit of its records:
- Copies of its drivers’ job applications.
- Annual local and national criminal background checks (including a check of the national sex offender registry) for each of its drivers.
- Driving history reports for each of its drivers.
- Copies of vehicle safety inspections for all vehicles five model years or older.
- Distinctive signage or emblem on vehicles in use that sufficiently identifies their affiliated limousine carrier.
- Individual trip records for its drivers and key information regarding its drivers and vehicles used over at least the past one year.
- Evidence that it adopted and published a zero-tolerance policy for its drivers' use of drugs and alcohol and adopted and published a customer complaint policy.
- Evidence that it adopted a nondiscrimination policy applicable to passengers and potential passengers and notified its drivers of that policy.
- Evidence that it notified lessees in lease agreements of the requirements of the Act.
Respondent’s license also lapsed due to expiration on September 1, 2022. In response to a notice and order to cease and desist issued under the Act, a respondent may request a formal hearing before an administrative law judge.
A limousine carrier or its agent who requires or knowingly permits a driver to operate a limousine in violation of the Act, including operating without a registration under the Act, is guilty of a misdemeanor punishable by a fine of not more than $1,000.00 per violation or imprisonment for not more than 90 days, or both. A “limousine” is a vehicle used in carrying passengers and their baggage for hire with a seating capacity of 8 passengers or fewer, including the driver. LARA is a regulatory agency with no criminal enforcement powers. When LARA determines that one of its regulatory actions could result in criminal charges under a law it administers, those cases are referred to either the Michigan Department of Attorney General or local law enforcement.When the Limousine, Taxicab, and Transportation Network Company Act (2016 PA 345) became effective on March 21, 2017, Michigan joined more than three dozen states that have similar laws in place. LARA encourages citizens to check online to verify if a transportation company is registered with the state before engaging its services. Citizens may also contact CSCL's Licensing Division at (517) 241-9221 or CSCLonline@michigan.gov to verify registration status. Information regarding how to file a complaint against a taxicab carrier, limousine carrier, or transportation network company may be found by visiting www.mi.gov/cscl and clicking "File a complaint" under “Online Services.”