Skip to main content

MDARD Announces $5,000 Lifetime MYLSF Scholarship Award Application Deadline for 2023 Michigan Youth Livestock Scholarship

Application are due on May 15, 2023 and additional details are available at

Lansing, MI- Since 2000, the Michigan Youth Livestock Scholarship Fund (MYLSF) has awarded $731,130 in scholarships and educational awards to outstanding youth who have exhibited at the premier livestock events in the state of Michigan. In 2022, there were $40,500 in scholarships awarded.

In 2023, a select number of applicants may be offered an opportunity to be interviewed, at the discretion of the MYLSF, before the Sale-Abration event for larger scholarship awards up to $5,000.

To be eligible for either the MYLSF general scholarship or the statewide scholarship, the applicant must be a resident of Michigan and a graduating high school senior or a high school graduate continuing their education at an accredited institution in the year in which they are applying. 

For the general MYLSF scholarship, the applicant must be a youth exhibitor at the Michigan Livestock Expo or the Michigan Dairy Expo for a minimum of three calendar years before the year of application. For the statewide scholarship, an applicant must be a youth exhibitor at a local, county, or statewide exhibition for a minimum of three years before the year of application. 

Specific proceeds from the Michigan Livestock Expo Sale-Abration auction and charitable donations help fund the scholarships. The fund is governed by an 11-member board comprised of volunteers from Michigan’s agricultural community. Also, in 2022 approximately $15,000 was deposited into the Michigan Education Saving Plans for youth exhibitors who compete in judging and showmanship events at the Michigan Livestock Expo on the Michigan State University campus.

The 2022 MYLSF scholarship winners were: 

$3,500 scholarship: Margaret Hartman of Flint; Irene Nielson of Mason; and Shannon Rossman of Litchfield
$2,500 scholarship: Allison Littlefield of Burr Oak; and Ryann Locke of Albion
$2,000 scholarship: Hannah Hart of Benton Harbor; Stephanie Harvey of Hamilton; Andrew Littlefield of Burr Oak; Tyler Rozema of Coopersville; Madalyn Stewart of Charlotte; and Katrina Tucker of Hopkins
$1,500 scholarship: Morgan Klosowski of Elkston; and Breanne Reif of Allen
$1,000 scholarship: Samantha Armstrong of Gregory; Travis Boeskool of Hamilton; Mallory Rozema of Coopersville; Alexander Scoville of Laingsburg; and Caleb Tucker of Hopkins
$500 scholarship: Alexandria Blackmer of Parma; Alissa Boersen of Zeeland; Jena Bradley of Cassopolis; and Brianna Stockwell of Dowagiac
$1,000 statewide scholarship: Reece Chapman of Bellevue; Katlyn Cunningham of Corunna; and Hayley Wineland of Coldwater

Applications and qualification requirements for the MYLSF and the statewide scholarship can be obtained at 

Applications must be submitted electronically no later than 11:59pm on May 15, 2023.

If you have any questions, please contact Jeff Haarer, Michigan Department of Agriculture and Rural Development’s Producer Security Section Manager, at 517-896-2236 or; or Ernie Birchmeier, Michigan Farm Bureau’s Senior Industry Relations Specialist, at 517-679-5335 or


Media Contact: