Department of Natural Resources
We invite you and your pet to enjoy Michigan's great outdoors together. Pets are welcome on a 6-foot leash in state parks, campgrounds, some state park cabins, state forests, non-designated bathing beach areas, harbor and the majority of trails and boat launches.
The following rules apply to pets at ALL locations:
Pet-friendly lodging pilot program
The DNR extends a warm paw of welcome, so furry companions can enjoy Michigan’s best outdoor recreation destinations. Beginning Nov. 1, 2017, up to two pets (dogs and cats only) are welcome in the following locations:
Cabins and lodges can be booked up to 12 months in advance. at www.midnrreservations.com or call 800-44-PARKS (800-447-2757). *There is an additional fee of $10 per night/pet/cabin or $15 per night/pet/lodge. All pet rules and leash laws still apply.
State Parks and State Forest Campgrounds
In general, pets are permitted in state parks, park campgrounds and state forest campgrounds as long as they are on a leash not exceeding six feet in length at all times. Please become familiar with all of the rules regarding pets and pay attention to signage.
Trails - Pets are welcome on state-designated trails and pathways located in state parks, state forests and recreation areas; however, there are some instances where pets are not allowed. Always check trailhead signage to make sure pets are allowed.
Harbors - Pets are allowed in state harbors. Some harbors have a designated pet area, so please learn the rules at each harbor.
Pet-friendly shoreline - Pets are allowed in non-designated bathing beach areas within state parks and recreation areas. The following parks have sections of pet-friendly shorelines: