Skip to main content

Off-road vehicle riding

three ORVs riding trail

Off-road vehicle riding

In Michigan, you can ride more than 4,000 miles of state-designated ORV trails and routes, six scramble areas, eligible county roads, frozen surface of public waters, state forest roads (open to ORV use) and eligible national forest roads. ORV license and trail permits are valid for one year, which begins April 1 and ends March 31 of the following year.

During firearm deer hunting season (Nov. 15-30), you can not operate an ORV in an area where public hunting is permitted from 7 a.m. to 11 a.m. and 2 p.m. to 5 p.m.

Support Michigan trails »

Before you go

permit required

Purchase permit, learn requirements

Learn when and where you need an ORV license and/or permit.

Trail etiquette icon

Trail etiquette

Please keep these tips and courtesies in mind when using mixed-use trails.

closures

Check closures

Before you hit the trails, it's a good idea to check the latest closures and detours. 

ORV safety certificate

ORV safety certificate

Operators under age 16 in Michigan must take an approved ORV education course.

Free ORV weekends

Twice a year, residents and nonresidents legally can DNR-designated routes and trails without purchasing an ORV license or trail permit. This year, Free ORV Weekends take place June 10-11 and Aug. 19-20, 2023.

ORV-friendly campgrounds

ORVs are generally prohibited in state parks and recreation areas; however, there are a handful of ORV-friendly state parks and state forest campground open to riders.

The handbook of Michigan ORV laws and riding basics cover

ORV rules and regulations

Handbook of ORV Laws

A comprehensive handbook defining ORV laws and regulations, safety information, vehicle operation, riding instructions and more.

Read the handbook »

operator age restrictions

Operator-age restrictions

Restrictions for children under 16 years; obligations that fall on parents and legal guardians.

ORV riding

ORV certificate of title

Certificate of title is required when selling, purchasing or transferring ORV ownership.

calendar

Motorized events / group rides

Info on when activities require a fee or donation and/or there are 20 or more participating.

rules and regulations

All ORV laws, rules & regulations

Find a list of need-to-know information for riding ORVs in Michigan.

Slow down. Speed and rider inexperience are the primary contributing factors for ORV accidents, serious injuries and death.

Ride Right

At work for you

The Off-Road Vehicle Advisory Workgroup assists the Michigan Trails Advisory Council and advises the DNR advice as it relates to the creation, development, operation and maintenance of the state’s designated ORV trail system.

Visit ORV Advisory Workgroup
"Park Here with Recreation Passport logo"

Recreation Passport

Your key to Michigan state parks, recreation areas, state forest campgrounds, boating access sites and state trailheads all year long. See where it can take you!

Michigan.gov/RecreationPassport.