The web Browser you are currently using is unsupported, and some features of this site may not work as intended. Please update to a modern browser such as Chrome, Firefox or Edge to experience all features Michigan.gov has to offer.
Food and Dairy Certificate of Free Sale for MDARD License Holders
The Michigan Department of Agriculture and Rural Development's (MDARD) Food and Dairy Division offers and processes Certificates of Free Sale for food and dairy related products. Issued certificates expire 1 year from the date of issuance.
$60.00 per certificate.
$1.00 per apostille.
Requestor must be currently licensed by MDARD's Food and Dairy Division as a Food Processor.
Requests must be made by completing the Food and Dairy Certificate of Free Sale Request Form and submit the completed form, in a Microsoft Word format, to MDA-FDDBusinessSectionInfo@michigan.gov.
Information needed to complete the Certificate of Free Sale Request Form includes:
- Request Date
- Name of person requesting the certificate
- Licensed company's name
- Complete physical address of the facility, including city and ZIP code
- Complete mailing address of the facility, including city and ZIP code
- Quantity of certificates being requested
- Certificate type
- Name of Product(s) to be listed on the certificate
- "Ship to Country" if the country is required on the certificate
- Shipping method requested
- Special mailing requests may be accommodated at the requestor's expense
- Include a printable label for all UPS and FedEx shipments
Processing time is typically 3-5 business days. An invoice will be included with your processed order.
Michigan Food Law, Act 92 of 2000, as amended
For more information about this Certificate of Free Sale, please contact William Wells, Departmental Technician, Food and Dairy Division, 517-284-5705.