Skip to main content

Licensing & Registration

A small green and white plane waits on the runway.
Department of Transportation

Licensing & Registration

The State of Michigan has laws which govern the registration of aircraft and the licensing of airports and other services throughout the state. This site provides resources for airport licensing and management, aircraft registration and other state mandated processes.

The Section also maintains responsibility for licensing and/or registering airports, flight schools, aircraft, and aircraft dealers.

Each of Michigan's public-use airports and heliports are inspected by MDOT Aeronautics staff. There are currently 66 flight schools, 144 aircraft dealers, and approximately 6,500 aircraft registered in the state.

NOTICE: Aircraft registration decals (stickers) have been discontinued and will no longer be distributed.

Aircraft Registration

Three steps to registering your aircraft with the federal government and the State of Michigan:

  1. Register with Federal Aviation Administration 
    Complete FAA aircraft registration Form 8050-1 and FAA Bill of Sale Form 8050-2 and return it to the FAA along with the $5 registration fee.

  2. Register with MDOT Office of Aeronautics
    Complete Michigan Aircraft Registration Form M-4004 and return it to MDOT along with the registration fee of 1 cent per pound based on the maximum gross weight of the aircraft. To pay in person, call 517-242-7771 or 517-335-9283 to schedule an appointment, or pay online.

  3. Pay Use Tax
    Visit the Michigan Department of Treasury Form 1989 or call 517-636-4120 to determine your use tax.

Michigan Aircraft Registration Exemption Application