Skip to main content

State Transportation Commission (STC)

The State Transportation Commission (STC) is the policy-making body for all state transportation programs. It is comprised of six members appointed by the governor with the advice and consent of the State Senate. Commissioners serve three-year terms, staggered so that the terms of two commissioners expire each year. No more than three commissioners are from the same political party as required by the Michigan Constitution. See Previous Commissioners.

The Commission establishes policy for the Michigan Department of Transportation in relation to transportation programs and facilities and other such works as related to transportation development, as provided by law. Responsibilities of the Commission include the development and implementation of comprehensive transportation plans for the entire state, including aeronautics, bus and rail transit, providing professional and technical assistance, and overseeing the administration of state and federal funds allocated for these programs.


Commission Adviser 
Troy Hagon | 517-719-2574

Commission Meetings

Meeting Information

Notice of meeting locations and times are posted at least seven-working days prior to each meeting date. Agendas and meeting materials are also posted prior to each meeting. All meetings of the STC are open to the public, and attendance is encouraged.

Direct questions regarding these meetings to: Commission Office, P.O. Box 30050, Lansing, Michigan 48909, or call 517-242-8018.

Accommodations can be made for persons with disabilities and Limited English Proficiency. Large print materials, auxiliary aides or the services of interpreters, signers, or readers are available upon request. Please call 517-335-4381 to request at least seven days before the meeting date.