Skip to main content

North Region

M-119 Tunnel of Trees area in Emmet County, North Region.
Department of Transportation

North Region

Counties: Alcona | Alpena | Antrim | Benzie | Charlevoix | Cheboygan | Crawford | Emmet | Grand Traverse | Iosco | Kalkaska | Leelanau | Manistee | Missaukee | Montmorency | Oscoda | Ogemaw | Otsego | Presque Isle | Roscommon | Wexford

The North Region is responsible for the maintenance and repair of 4,344 lane miles of state highways and freeways in the northern 21 counties of the Lower Peninsula. In addition to the region office, North Region has three transportation service centers, three operations facilities, two testing labs, a region sign shop, and one welcome center.

Regions and TSCs work with local governments, elected officials, stakeholders, and residents to ensure positive transportation decisions that keep people and goods moving safely, efficiently, and reliably through the region.

Scott Thayer, P.E., Region Engineer


North Region Office
1088 M-32
Gaylord, MI 49735 | Map

Hours: 7:30 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.

Phone: 989-731-5090
Toll Free: 888-304-MDOT (6368)
Fax: 989-731-0536 

MDOT Contact Form

Transportation Service Centers (TSC)

An employee photo placeholder.

Kevin Schaedig, Manager
1540 Airport Rd.
Alpena, MI 49707

Phone: 989-356-2231
Fax: 989-354-4142

An employee photo placeholder.

Jason Gailitis, Manager
1088 M-32
Gaylord, MI 49735

Phone: 989-731-5090
Fax: 989-732-3637

An employee photo placeholder.

Dan Wagner, Manager
2084 US-31 South, Suite B
Traverse City, MI 49685

Phone: 231-941-1986
Fax: 231-941-1512

Region Resources

Lane Closures

View region construction, lane closures, traffic cameras, and incident information.

Major Projects & Studies

Stay updated on major region road and bridge projects, as well as ongoing studies.

Rest Areas & Welcome Centers

Locate rest areas and welcome centers along major freeways and roads in the region. 

Media Representative

MDOT North Region Communications Representative James Lake

Region News