Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

  1. My renewal date is coming up soon. I know that the license will be valid for 3 years. Since I will be moving next year, I only want to renew it for 1 year. Can I do that?
  2. How can I change my address?

  3. How can I change my name?

  4. How long will you keep my licensure application on file?

  5. If I have been convicted of a felony or a misdemeanor, will this stop me from obtaining a Michigan EMS license?

  6. What happens if my license expires?

  7. How do I verify my Michigan license to another state?

  8. I need to verify whether someone has a license.  How can I do that?

  9. How do I renew my license?

  10. How will I know when I need to renew?

  11. What if I am licensed in more than one state? Do you need verification from all the states I have ever held a license in or just the state where I hold my current license?

  12. How long does it take to process my application?

  13. How long does it take for your office to receive my correspondence?

  14. What is the purpose of the different types of applications?

  15. ^return to top

(1) My renewal date is coming up soon. I know that the license will be valid for 3 years. Since I will be moving next year, I only want to renew it for 1 year. Can I do that?

No. When you renew your license it can only be renewed for the full 3 years.

^return to questions list

(2) How can I change my address?

By completing the Data Change/Duplicate License Request Form and submitting it to our office either by mail or fax. In addition, if you would like to request a new license, you must pay a $10.00 fee.

^return to questions list

(3) How can I change my name?

By completing the Data Change/Duplicate License Request Form and submitting with a copy of the legal document changing your name, i.e. marriage license, divorce decree, court order, etc. In addition, if you would like to request a new license, you must pay a $10.00 fee.

^return to questions list

(4) How long will you keep my licensure application on file?

We keep your application and fee on file for 2 years from the date received.  If the requirements for licensure are not met within that time span, the application is no longer valid and the file is destroyed.

^return to questions list

(5) If I have been convicted of a felony or a misdemeanor, will this stop me from obtaining a Michigan EMS license?

This type of information will be reviewed on an individual basis.  You must submit your application, fee, and information regarding the occurrence including dates, sentences, and completion of requirements.  We will review and make a decision at that time.  Please keep in mind that we do take into consideration the type of conviction, the age that you were when the incident occurred, the time that has elapsed since the conviction, and your record since the incident.

^return to questions list

(6) What happens if my license expires?

If your license is not renewed on or before the expiration date, you have a 60 day grace period after the expiration date to renew with paying an additional $50.00 late fee for a total of $75.00. If it is not renewed within those 60 days, your license will lapse.

If your license expires, you cannot practice your profession, nor will you be able to identify yourself as being a licensed EMS professional.  Working without a valid license is considered a felony under Michigan Law and will result in legal proceedings.

^return to questions list

(7) How do I verify my Michigan license to another state? 

We can provide written verification of your license status to other states. This document may also be referred to as a "letter of good standing." You need to send a written request for license verification, providing this office with the name and address of the state office that you wish to receive the documentation. This request should also include your name, license number, and your signature. This request can be mailed or faxed directly to our office for processing.

The verification process generally takes 15-20 business days from the time the request is received by the Department.

^return to questions list

(8) I need to verify whether someone has a license. How can I do that?

If you have access to the Internet, you can go to our on-line Verify a License Website.

^return to questions list

(9) How do I renew my license?

You will receive a renewal application in the mail approximately 90 days before your expiration date. You must renew your license online at mylicense. All online payments must be made via credit card (Visa, Mastercard, or Discover) or by electronic checking. If you are within 60 days past the expiration date, you can renew online, but you will be assessed the license renewal fee and a late fee. If your license expired more than 60 days ago, you must apply for relicensure. If your license is in renewal, you can change your address online also. A duplicate renewal application can be requested at bhpinfo@Michigan.gov or you can call 517-241-0179. Renewal applications cannot be printed off our website at this time. If you are renewing an Instructor-Coordinator license, your provider license must be currently active.

^return to questions list

(10) How will I know when I need to renew?

Renewal notices are mailed to the last known address on file approximately 90 days before the expiration date of your current license. If we have an incorrect address, you are still responsible for making sure your license has been renewed properly and in a timely manner.  Remember to notify the Department in writing of any address changes, to ensure you receive your renewal notice on time.

^return to questions list

(11) What if I am licensed in more than one state? Do you need verification from all the states I have ever held a license in or just the state where I hold my current license?

We will need verification from all states where you have ever held a license. This is to ensure that there has not been any disciplinary actions or suspensions and that your current license is in good standing.

When completing an application for relicensure, you are required to list all states that you have held a license in.

^return to questions list

(12) How long does it take to process my application?

Your application is considered complete once we have received your application packet, fee, and additional documents such as, course completion roster, verifications from other states, or test scores. Upon receipt of all required documents, your application will be reviewed, approved, and your license will be issued. This process generally takes approximately 4 to 6 weeks. If there are delays in receiving verifications, or exam scores, or the information submitted is incomplete, the process may take longer.

Relicensure applications may take longer depending upon what additional information is needed to process the application.

Please be patient as we process your application. If you do not receive your license or a letter regarding the status of your application within 4 to 6 weeks, please call our office at 517-241-0179.

^return to questions list

(13) How long does it take for your office to receive my correspondence?

It takes approximately 7-10 days from the mail date for our office to receive outside mail.

^return to questions list

(14) What is the purpose of the different types of applications?

New License - You have never held a license in this profession in Michigan or any other state, or your license lapsed or expired more than three years ago.

Reciprocity/Endorsement - You hold a current license in this profession in another state and have never held this license in Michigan.

Relicensure - You once held a license in this profession in Michigan that lapsed or expired.