The web Browser you are currently using is unsupported, and some features of this site may not work as intended. Please update to a modern browser such as Chrome, Firefox or Edge to experience all features Michigan.gov has to offer.
Heirloom Birth Certificates
You can celebrate a newborn or memorialize an ancestor with an Heirloom Birth Certificate issued by the State of Michigan. These certificates are signed by the Governor, printed over artwork and are suitable for framing and preserving as family heirlooms. Heirloom birth certificates are not intended as legal proof of birth. The certificates are mailed encased in cardboard shields to ensure protection.
There are five heirloom birth certificate designs available (Select a sample to view full size):
The issuing of Heirloom Birth Certificates was authorized by Act 28 of 2011. The law is known as the Pam Posthumus Law in memory of Pam Posthumus, who served as a Children's Trust Fund board member in 1997 and board chair in 2002. Ms. Posthumus dedicated her life toward improving the lives of all children and was a tireless advocate and champion for Michigan's children.
The heirloom certificates were chosen through a statewide contest of local artists.
By purchasing an heirloom certificate you not only obtain a certificate of the birth of a newborn or ancestor but also will be contributing to Michigan's Children's Trust Fund. The Children's Trust Fund was established in 1982. The Children's Trust Fund serves as a voice for Michigan's children and families and promotes their health, safety, and welfare by funding effective local programs and services that prevent child abuse and neglect. The Fund provides financial support to an extensive network of local prevention organizations.
Who Can Order
Heirloom Birth Certificates may be issued only to the following individuals:
- The child named on the record
- A parent named on the record
- Legal guardian
- An heir of a deceased individual
- Birth records that are more than 100 years old are available to anyone who applies
You may also purchase a gift certificate for an heirloom birth certificate that can be given as a gift. The recipient of the gift certificate will need to complete an application and select the heirloom design of their choice.
How to Order
- Complete the Heirloom Birth Certificate Application providing all information requested. The same application can be used to order a gift certificate.
- Provide a copy of your valid photo identification. Birth records less than 100 years old are restricted documents and you must prove eligibility in order to request one. We will accept a current valid driver's license, state-issued photo identification card, or passport.
- Include a check or money order for $40.00 made payable to the "State of Michigan". The fee covers the search for the record, preparation of one heirloom certificate and mailing the certificate via regular mail. This fee also includes a $20 contribution to the Children's Trust Fund.
- Send the order form, fee and valid photo identification to:
Vital Records Requests
PO Box 30721
Lansing MI 48909
- Processing time for orders is five (5) weeks. This includes mail time and processing your payment through our Accounting Department.
Most questions about ordering are answered in the Heirloom Birth Certificate FAQ document or the Heirloom Birth Certificate Brochure. However, if you have further questions, please contact our Eligibility Unit at 517-335-8666.
Certified Vital Records for Legal Use
The Heirloom birth certificate is not a certified copy and cannot be used for legal purposes. If you need to order a certified copy of a birth record, you can click here to print the certified birth certificate application. If you need further assistance, have questions about Michigan Vital Records or need to have an application mailed to you, please contact us at 517-335-8666. You may also send a general e-mail to VRCustomerService@michigan.gov and we will try to respond within two business days.