The web Browser you are currently using is unsupported, and some features of this site may not work as intended. Please update to a modern browser such as Chrome, Firefox or Edge to experience all features Michigan.gov has to offer.
Substance Use Assessments and Classes
Persons charged with a substance use related traffic offense may be required to obtain an alcohol screening or substance abuse evaluation, or participate in awareness classes.
Offenses that may require assessments and/or classes include: Driving Under the Influence (DUI), Operating Under the Influence (OUI), Operating with an Unlawful Bodily Alcohol Content (UBAC), Impaired Driving, Open Intoxicants in a Motor Vehicle, Person Under 21 purchase/consume/possess/transport Alcohol, Use of Fraudulent ID to Purchase Liquor, or person deemed a Habitual Alcohol Offender.
("Traffic Safety Classes" are not equivalent.)Michigan calls its classes "Alcohol Highway Safety Classes," these are equivalent to what other states call "DUI Classes," the first level should be about 8 hours of classes. Note, most states, including Michigan, do not accept on-line courses.
|To find local providers and their contact information, go to this webpage and select the link for your county.
Providers of Assessments and Classes
or call them toll free at 888-861-8300. www.impactweekend.com
Another source for people who need more class hours is called "Impact Weekend." They offer classes at various locations across the state. For more information, go to their website at
Classes Available Statewide:
webpage for the Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs (LARA) database. On the individual program information page, look for "SARF" under the service description to find out if the program offers screening, assessment, referral, and follow-up services. Licensing, Certification, Training
Assessments may also be obtained from licensed substance use disorder treatment programs. To find a local program, see the link on our
Other Assessment Sources:
.firstname.lastname@example.orgTo contact our treatment specialist call 517-335-2294, please leave a message if she's not available at the time of your call; or email us at
Related Secretary of State (SOS) Information:
- Michigan's drunk/drug driving laws, including repeat offenders and alcohol/drug penalties for drivers of commercial vehicles.
Alcohol/Drug Offense License Information
- The appeal processes for restoring your driver's license.
Getting Your License Back
- Information to request a driver license appeal hearing to waive all or part of the Michigan suspension/restriction and how to seek 90 days of restrictions in Michigan.
Out-of-state Substance Abuse Conviction
- The driver record point system; probationary program for new Michigan drivers, non-alcohol, and non-driving-related offenses/convictions; appeal process, and programs that deny access to your vehicle.
Losing Your Privilege to Drive
- Prior to hearing or reexamination, the driver must obtain notarized letters from people in their community who have frequent contact with the driver and may know about their drinking habits and/or use of controlled substances.
Documentation of Petitioner's Past and Current Substance Abuse History
Secretary of State, Driver Assessment and Appeal Division, Information Center
Related State Court Administrative Office (SCAO) Forms: