Skip to main content

Contact Information for Division of Environmental Health

--- If You Believe You Are In Immediate Danger Please Call 911 or Contact Poison Control at 1-800-222-1222 ---

The Division maintains a toll-free telephone hotline for the general public. A toxicologist is on hand to answer questions about the environment and health. Callers can have questions answered about contaminants in the home and in the environment. Call 1-800-MI-TOXIC (1-800-648-6942) during business hours, 8a.m.-5p.m., Monday through Friday.

Main Division Phone: (517) 335-8350

Lead Hotline: (866) 691-5323

MDHHS Drinking Water Hotline: (844) 934-1315

MI Toxic Hotline: 1-800-MI-TOXIC (1-800-648-6942)

Mold Information Hotline: (517) 335-9436

MDHHS Media Office: (517) 241-0048


Mailing Address

MDHHS Division of Environmental Health
333 S. Grand Ave
P.O. Box 30195
Lansing, Michigan 48909

Office of the Director

Jennifer Shutts, Acting Division Director 

Jacqui Barr, Division Secretary

Jennifer Gray, Senior Toxicologist

Elizabeth Wasilevich, Senior Epidemiologist

Hope Bartlett, Manager, Financial Management Unit


Chemical Planning and Response Section

Jerry Tiernan, Section Manager

Jes Coggins, Section Assistant

Aaron Ward, Manager, Drinking Water and Environmental Sampling Unit

Lisa Quiggle, Manager, Vapor Intrusion and Stabilization Unit


Community Education and Outreach Section

Chris Finch, Section Manager

Courtney VanKoevering, Section Secretary

Maria George, Manager, Health Education Unit

Asiah White, Assistant, Community Engagement Unit


Environmental Epidemiology and Analytics Section

Anthony Oliveri, Section Manager

Ruth Scherman-Siver, Section Secretary


Environmental Health Surveillance Section

Tom Largo, Section Manager

Connie Sands-Coppernoll, Section Secretary

Aaron Ferguson, Manager, Climate and Tracking Unit


Field Epidemiology Section

Melissa Millerick-May, Section Manager

Jessica Bowers, Section Secretary


Lead Certification and Compliance Assurance Section

Michael Lowery, Acting Section Manager

Asia Wright, Assistant, Certification & Enforcement Unit


Lead Services Section

Carin Speidel, Section Manager

Rick Stoner, Section Secretary 

Michelle Twichell, Manager, Childhood Lead Poisoning Prevention Program 

Courtney Wisinski, Manager, Community Development Unit 

Sonya Frick, Manager, Lead Safe Home Program 

Cora Schuon, Assistant, Lead Safe Home Program 


Toxicology and Assessment Section

Marcus Wasilevich, Section Manager

Michelle Benin, Section Secretary

Elizabeth Villarreal, Assistant, Environmental Site Contamination Unit

Andrea Keatley, Manager, Environmental Assessment & ATSDR Unit