Skip to main content

Trainings and Trainers

    • Transforming Youth Suicide Prevention Start Flyer

      Start training teaches valuable suicide prevention identification skills to everyone 13 and older and requires no formal training or prior experience in suicide prevention. Participants will learn a powerful four-step model to keep someone safe from suicide, as well as practice the model through impactful simulations. This training is completed online, individually and can typically be done in 90 minutes.

    • Assessing and Managing Suicide Risk (AMSR) Training Requirements

      Assessing and Managing Suicide Risk (AMSR) training teaches best practices recommended by the nation's leading experts in the research and delivery of suicide care. Expert trainers lead this one-day training teaching skills for providing compassionate care to people at risk for suicide through videos, live demonstrations, and paired and written practice. This training can be delivered virtually or in-person and is for social workers, professional counselors, therapists, psychologists, physicians, and psychiatrists.

    • Applied Suicide Intervention Skills Training (ASIST) Training Requirements

      Applied Suicide Intervention Skills Training (ASIST) is a two-day face-to-face workshop featuring powerful audiovisuals, discussion, and simulations. Participants will learn how to prevent suicide by recognizing signs, providing a skilled intervention, and developing a safety plan to keep someone alive. ASIST is a gatekeeper training geared towards anyone who is strategically positioned within a community/organization to recognize and refer someone at risk of suicide (e.g. parents, friends, neighbors, teachers, case workers, coaches, law enforcement, etc.). 

  • https://www.livingworks.net/asist

    ASIST logo

    Applied Suicide Intervention Skills Training (ASIST) is a two-day interactive workshop in suicide first aid. ASIST teaches participants to recognize when someone may have thoughts of suicide and work with them to create a plan that will support their immediate safety. Although ASIST is widely used by healthcare providers, participants don't need any formal training to attend the workshop-anyone 16 or older can learn and use the ASIST model.

    Certified Trainers in Michigan (*willing to travel)

     

     Name           Location   Email
    Lisa Clavier*   Statewide                   KierstensRide@outlook.com
    Sarah Derwin      Marquette (U.P.)   sderwin@mqto.org
    Anne Kramer*    Statewide   ack@umich.edu
    Erica Saum*  Oakland County  easum@jfsdetroit.org
    Mary Schalk*   NE Michigan  mary@nemcpi.org
    Barb Smith*  Statewide   sosbarb@gmail.com
    Amelia Lehto    Metro Detroit  a3lehto@hotmail.com
    Maricela Alcala*   Kalamazoo  MAlcala@gryphon.org
    Kaitlyn Bollwahn*  Fowlerville  weberkt317@gmail.com
    Lindsay DeCamp*   Fowlerville  ldecamp13@gmail.com
    Laurin Jozlin*    Oakland County  laurin.jozlin@gmail.com
    Ashley Kipp*   Kalamazoo  akipp@gryphon.org
    Jacqueline List*   Caro  jacquelinelist@listpsych.com
    Michelle Rose-Armstrong  Ypsilanti*  mrosearmstrong7@ycschools.us
    Amanda Strigel*   Allegan  amanda.strigel@gmail.com
    Karen Marshall*  Ferndale  karenmmarshall55@gmail.com
    Ursula Walther  Sault Ste. Marie  ursula.w.walther@uscg.mil
    Steffany Wilson*   Oakland County  steffwilson81@gmail.com
  • https://www.sprc.org/training-events/amsr

    AMSR is a one-day training workshop for behavioral health professionals. The 6.5-hour training program is based on the latest research and designed to help participants provide safer suicide care.  

    Certified Trainers in Michigan

     

     Name      Email
     Cindy Ewell Foster   cjfoster@umich.edu
     Ashley Jenema  AJenema@up-pathways.org
     Kathy Lewis-Ginebaugh  kathy.lewis@wmich.edu
     Marcy Rosen   mjrosen51@gmail.com
  • https://qprinstitute.com/

    QPR logo

    QPR (Question, Persuade, and Refer) Gatekeeper Training for Suicide Prevention is a 1-2 hour educational program designed to teach lay and professional "gatekeepers" the warning signs of a suicide crisis and how to respond. Gatekeepers can include anyone who is strategically positioned to recognize and refer someone at risk of suicide (e.g., parents, friends, neighbors, teachers, coaches, caseworkers, police officers). The process follows three steps: (1) Question the individual's desire or intent regarding suicide, (2) Persuade the person to seek and accept help, and (3) Refer the person to appropriate resources. Trainees receive a QPR booklet and wallet card as a review and resource tool that includes local referral resources. The training is delivered in person by certified QPR gatekeeper instructors or online.

    Certified Trainers in Michigan

     

     Name  Location  Email
     Sarah Derwin   Marquette (U.P.)    sderwin@mqtco.org
     Tracy Fay  Van Buren County  tfay@vbcmh.com
     Tonette Brown Garner  Muskegon  bgarnert@muskegoncc.edu
     Tanequa Hampton  Kalamazoo  thampton@gryphon.org
     Emily Pratt   Marquette  epratt@mqtco.org
     Michael Pyne (Master Trainer)   Muskegon  Michael.Pyne@healthwest.net
     Andrea Smith  Detroit/Wayne County  asmith1@dwmha.com
     Scott Teichmer      Muskegon    scott.teichmer@healthwest.net
  • https://www.livingworks.net/safetalk

    safeTALK logo

    safeTALK is a half-day alertness training that prepares anyone 15 or older, regardless of prior experience or training, to become a suicide-alert helper. Most people with thoughts of suicide don't truly want to die, but are struggling with the pain in their lives. Through their words and actions, they invite help to stay alive. safeTALK-trained helpers can recognize these invitations and take action by connecting them with life-saving intervention resources, such as caregivers trained in ASIST.

    Certified Trainers in Michigan (*wiling to travel)

     

      Name    Location  Email
     Vicki Barnes   West Branch  vicbar48756@yahoo.com
    Lisa Clavier*
     East Jordan  kierstensride@outlook.com
     Jennifer Fisher  Kalamazoo  fisheje@bronsonhg.org
     Nickole Fox*  Madison Heights  nickolefox@gmail.com
     Stacy Gatz*   Eaton County  sgatz@eatonresa.org
     Julie Helmer   Kalamazoo  jhelmer@iskzoo.org
     Anne Kramer*  Ann Arbor   ack@umich.edu
     Jacqueline List   Caro    jacquelinelist@listpsych.com
     Randolph Miota  St. Joseph   randolph.miota@spectrumhealth.org
     Kay Ross    Lenawee County  kross@lcmha.org
     Erica Saum*   Oakland County  ericasaum@gmail.com
     Mary Schalk    Rogers City  mary@nemcpi.org
     Kristen Smith  Kalamazoo  ksmith134@michigan.gov
     Barb Smith*   Saginaw   barb.smith@srrn.net
     Darius Watkins*    Detroit  dwatkins8@emich.edu
  • https://www.livingworks.net/programs/suicide-to-hope/

    suicide to Hope logo

    suicide to Hope is a workshop for clinicians and other professional helpers who are, or would like to be, involved in ongoing suicide care for people, once they are safe. It assumes that participants are familiar with suicide intervention and can provide suicide first aid. While LivingWorks’ ASIST is not a prerequisite, it is recommended as one way to learn suicide first aid and provides background for suicide to Hope’s learning processes and tools.

    Certified Trainers in Michigan (*willing to travel)

     

     Name  Location  Email
     Anne Kramer*  Statewide  ack@umich.edu
     Erica Saum*   Oakland County  esaum@jfsdetroit.org