Contact Us

Tobacco Section

Division of Chronic Disease and Injury Control
Michigan Department of Health and Human Services
P.O. Box 30195
Lansing, MI 48913
Phone: 517-335-8376
Fax: 517-335-9669
website: www.michigan.gov/tobacco

Julia Hitchingham
Section Manager
Phone:  517-335-8381
e-mail: HitchinghamJ@michigan.gov
 Provides overall direction of the Tobacco Section and staff. Provides budget oversight, policy direction, program planning, and evaluation. Serves as a liaison to various department committees and initiatives. Final authority on enforcement of Public Act 188 of 2009 (Michigan's Smoke Free Air Law).

Dee Florence
Section Secretary
Phone: 517-335-8376
e-mail: FlorenceD1@michigan.gov
 Provides clerical and administrative support to Tobacco Section staff.

Karen Brown
Consultant
Phone: 517-335-8803
e-mail: BrownK34@michigan.gov
 Manages the Michigan Tobacco Quitline contract. Coordinates tobacco dependence treatment and promotes integration of the U.S. Public Health Service Clinical Practice and Affordable Care Act Guidelines with health care providers, public and private insurers, and health care organizations. Coordinates implementation of e-referral. Coordinates statewide tobacco education media initiatives.

Akia Burnett
Unit Manager
Phone: 517-335-9407
e-mail: BurnettA@michigan.gov
 Provides overall direction of the Tobacco Prevention and Control Unit. Participates in program planning, evaluation and various division-level workgroups and integration projects. Provides legislative analysis and participates in public policy efforts.

Carolyn Chaudhary
Evaluator
Phone: 517-335-8376
e-mail: ChaudharyC@michigan.gov
 Provides consultation and technical assistance to contractors participating in the statewide Tobacco Use Reduction in People Living with HIV project.

Colin Consiglio
Departmental Analyst
Phone: 517-335-8386
e-mail: ConsiglioC@michigan.gov
 Conducts Food & Drug Administration advertising and labeling inspections under the Michigan Tobacco Retailer Inspection Project.

Blaine Cressman
Policy Consultant
Phone: 517-335-1627
e-mail: CressmanB@michigan.gov
 Serves as the lead consultant for the Affidavit Review and Approval process. Assists with enforcement activities for Public Act 188 of 2009 (Michigan's Smoke Free Air Law).

Elaine Lyon
Consultant
Phone: 517-241-1195
e-mail: LyonE@michigan.gov
 Provides technical assistance to local tobacco reduction coalitions, community of color, and LGBTQ contractors. Establishes partnerships with other healthcare groups to provide training and support on tobacco issues, particularly tobacco dependence treatment. Coordinates the Michigan Multicultural Network.

Martha Mello
Financial Analyst
Phone: 517-335-9972
e-mail: MelloM@michigan.gov
 Provides technical assistance to staff and agencies and acts as a financial liaison to Budget and Contract office for the Section.

Jason Osoff
Analyst
Phone: 517-335-8599
e-mail: OsoffJ@michigan.gov
 Conducts inspections and enforcement activities related to Part 126 of Public Act 188 of 2009 (Michigan's Smoke Free Air Law).

Farid Shamo
Evaluation & Public Health Consultant
Phone: 517-335-8021
e-mail: ShamoF@michigan.gov
 Coordinates statewide efforts to increase communities of color involvement in tobacco reduction activities. Provides expertise in the design, management and evaluation of health status studies, survey questionnaires, data analysis, and presentation of tobacco surveillance and evaluation findings.

Bennetta Thomas
Public Health Consultant
Phone: 517-373-6522
e-mail: ThomasB19@michigan.gov
 Provides consultation and technical assistance to contractors participating in the statewide Tobacco Use Reduction in People Living with HIV project.

Sheyonna Watson
Public Health Consultant Lead
Phone: 517-241-6195
e-mail: WatsonS4@michigan.gov
 Coordinates the statewide Tobacco Use Reduction in People Living with HIV project.