Commission Overview and Members

Certificate of Need Commission is governed by Part 222 of PA 368 of the Public Acts of 1978, as amended. 

An eleven member Commission, appointed by the Governor with the advice and consent of the Senate, has the responsibility to develop, approve, disapprove, or revise CON Review Standards.  The Review Standards are used by the CON Program Section to issue decisions on CON applications.  The Commission evaluates the Review Standards for modification on a three-year rotating schedule as identified on the Commission Workplan.  The Commission also has the authority to make recommendations to revise the list of covered clinical services subject to CON review.  All CON Commission meetings are posted on the Meetings Page and are open to the public.  

The CON Commission members are as follows:

 Chairperson
 James Falahee
 Republican - Term Expires: April 9, 2019
 Represents Hospitals

 Bronson Healthcare System
 

 Office: (269) 341-8907
 E-mail: FalaheeJ@Bronsonhg.org

 

 Vice-Chairperson
 Thomas Mittlebrun, III
 Democrat- Term Expires: January 1, 2021
 Represents Organized Labor Unions

 Southeastern Michigan Chapter National   Electrical Contractors Association

 Office: (248) 720-2727
 E-mail: tmittelbrun@smcneca.org

 Denise Brooks-Williams
 Democrat - Term Expires: April 9, 2019
 Represents Hospitals

 Henry Ford Wyandotte Hospital
  

 Office: (734) 246-6004
 E-mail: dbrooks4@hfhs.org

 J. Lindsey Dood
 Republican - Term Expires: April 9, 2021
 Represents Nursing Homes

 

 

 Office: 
 E-mail: lindsey.dood@yahoo.com

 Tressa Gardner, D.O.
 Republican - Term Expires: April 9, 2020
 Represents Individuals Licensed Under
 Part 175 to engage in the
 Practice of Osteopathic Medicine

 DeGarA, PLLC

 Office: 
 E-mail: tressa.gardner@degarapllc.com

 Debra Guido-Allen, RN
 Democrat - Term Expires: January 1, 2022
 Represents Nurses

 Beaumont Hospital, Troy
 

 Office: (248) 964-8802
 E-mail: Debra.Guido-Allen@beaumont.org

 

 Robert L. Hughes
 Republican - Term Expires: January 1, 2020
 Represents Company that is not Self-Insured
 for Health Coverage

 Advantage Benefits Group
 

 Office: (616) 458-3597
 E-mail: RLHughes@advantageben.com

 Melanie Lalonde
 Republican - Term Expires: January 1, 2022
 Represents companies that are self- 
 insured for health coverage

 General Motors

 Office: 
 E-mail: melanie.lalonde@gm.com

 

 Amy L. McKenzie, MD
 Independent - Term Expires: January 1, 2021
 Represents Nonprofit Health Care Corp.

 Blue Cross Blue Shield of Michigan
 

 Office: (313) 448-6981
 E-mail: amckenzie@bcbsm.com

 

 Melisa J. Oca, M.D.
 Independent - Term Expires: April 9, 2021
 Represents Individuals Licensed Under
 Part 170 to engage in the Practice of  Medicine

 St. Joseph Mercy Ann Arbor

 Office: (734) 712-3325
 E-mail: Melisa_Oca@ihacares.com

 Stewart C. Wang, MD
 Independent - Term Expires: April 9, 2020
 Represents Physicians Licensed Under Part 170 or 175 Representing a School of Medicine or   Osteopathic Medicine

 University of Michigan Health System
 
 Office: (734) 764-7841
 E-mail: stewartw@med.umich.edu

 

 


Department of Health and Human Services - Certificate of Need Policy Section
5th Floor South Grand Building, 333 S. Grand Ave.
Lansing, MI 48933
Your questions and comments regarding our website are welcome.
Send them to us via
 
CON WebTeam